![]() |
|
|||
![]() RULE 9-SECTION 7 THREE SECONDSART. 1 . . . A player shall not remain for three seconds in that part of his/her free-throw lane between the end line and the farther edge of the free-throw line while the ball is in control of his/her team in his/her frontcourt. ART. 2 . . . The three-second restriction applies to a player who has only one foot touching the lane boundary. The line is part of the lane. All lines designating the free-throw lane, but not lane-space marks and neutral-zone marks, are part of the lane. ART. 3 . . . Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal. PENALTY: (Section 7) The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. [Rationale – The three-second rule was developed to force offensive players to move without the ball and reduce congestion within the lane area.] (Dribbling) A1 is at the top of the key and drives to the lane. A1 is in the lane for 3/4 of a second, going toward the basket, when Lead official whistles the play dead because A4 was in the lane for three seconds. Is this correct? Does the allowance “ made for a player who… moves immediately to try for a goal” apply only to the player [A1] , or does the allowance apply to the 3-second count rule on any teammate of A1 [A4 et al] ? Although I rarely use the 3-second rule, my stance has been to suspend any count if any player, with the ball and in the lane, is making a move to the basket. I find no support, pro or con, anywhere. Help ! …And Thanks! |
|
|||
Advantageous position
Quote:
Otherwise we have nothing until the ball leaves the lane or the offensive player ceases action to the hoop.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
Mick, if a player is making a drive to the basket, I have a very, very hard time justifying calling 3 seconds on a different player. However, if the defender leaves A4 to go over and stop the drive and A1 passes to A4 - ring him up. That's the kind of thing the rule and allowance is trying to prevent.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
When A4, in a threatening position, is in the lane for 3 when A1 is driving such that B4 must make a decision to stay on A4 or help on A1, I call the three. A4 gained an advantage by remaining in the lane..sucking the defense away from the drive. If A4 is in a spot that doesn't put B in such a position, no call.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
In my mind it is, and I won't make that call. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Spirit Of The Rule ???
Sounds like Intent and Purpose to me.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Dec 09, 2008 at 10:56pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Use of the word "allowance" in NFHS rule 9-7-3...? | PSidbury | Basketball | 28 | Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:04pm |
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule | TxJim | Football | 14 | Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm |