The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   3-second rule -> Allowance (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50242-3-second-rule-allowance.html)

mick Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:37am

3-second rule -> Allowance
 
RULE 9-SECTION 7 THREE SECONDS
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not remain for three seconds in that part of his/her
free-throw lane between the end line and the farther edge of the free-throw line while the ball is in control of his/her team in his/her frontcourt.
ART. 2 . . . The three-second restriction applies to a player who has only one foot touching the lane boundary. The line is part of the lane. All lines designating the free-throw lane, but not lane-space marks and neutral-zone marks, are part of the lane.
ART. 3 . . . Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the
restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to
try for goal.
PENALTY: (Section 7) The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is
awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds
spot nearest the violation.
<O:p</O:p

[Rationale – The three-second rule was developed to force offensive players to move without the ball and reduce congestion within the lane area.]


(Dribbling) A1 is at the top of the key and drives to the lane. A1 is in the lane for 3/4 of a second, going toward the basket, when Lead official whistles the play dead because A4 was in the lane for three seconds.

<O:p
Is this correct?

Does the allowance “ made for a player who… moves immediately to try for a goal” apply only to the player [A1] , or does the allowance apply to the 3-second count rule on any teammate of A1 [A4 et al] ?

<O:p</O:p
Although I rarely use the 3-second rule, my stance has been to suspend any count if any player, with the ball and in the lane, is making a move to the basket.
<O:p</O:p
I find no support, pro or con, anywhere.

<O:p</O:p
Help !
…And Thanks!

bob jenkins Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:49am

I think the allowance only applies to that player.

OHBBREF Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:49am

Advantageous position
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 556621)
my stance has been to suspend any count if any player, with the ball and in the lane, is making a move to the basket.

I tend to agree with you - unless the other offensive player in the lane has an advantageous position (such as a rebounding position with the defense in a zone, or that player sets a screen that gives the player with the ball and advantage) as a result of being in the lane for 3 or more seconds when the player goes to the hoop.
Otherwise we have nothing until the ball leaves the lane or the offensive player ceases action to the hoop.

mbyron Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:27am

Around here the expectation is as you suggest: suspend the count if any player is going to the basket.

Learned that the loud way once as a rookie...

fullor30 Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 556622)
I think the allowance only applies to that player.


Agreed..........

rockyroad Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:03am

Mick, if a player is making a drive to the basket, I have a very, very hard time justifying calling 3 seconds on a different player. However, if the defender leaves A4 to go over and stop the drive and A1 passes to A4 - ring him up. That's the kind of thing the rule and allowance is trying to prevent.

mbyron Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 556647)
Mick, if a player is making a drive to the basket, I have a very, very hard time justifying calling 3 seconds on a different player. However, if the defender leaves A4 to go over and stop the drive and A1 passes to A4 - ring him up. That's the kind of thing the rule and allowance is trying to prevent.

Absolutely: I suspend the count if a player is driving to the basket, but if he stops or passes, violation.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 09, 2008 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 556650)
Absolutely: I suspend the count if a player is driving to the basket, but if he stops or passes, violation.

When A4, in a threatening position, is in the lane for 3 when A1 is driving such that B4 must make a decision to stay on A4 or help on A1, I call the three. A4 gained an advantage by remaining in the lane..sucking the defense away from the drive. If A4 is in a spot that doesn't put B in such a position, no call.

mbyron Tue Dec 09, 2008 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 556750)
When A4, in a threatening position, is in the lane for 3 when A1 is driving such that B4 must make a decision to stay on A4 or help on A1, I call the three. A4 gained an advantage by remaining in the lane..sucking the defense away from the drive. If A4 is in a spot that doesn't put B in such a position, no call.

Not saying you're wrong to do it, just that I can't call that around here.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Dec 09, 2008 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 556750)
When A4, in a threatening position, is in the lane for 3 when A1 is driving such that B4 must make a decision to stay on A4 or help on A1, I call the three. A4 gained an advantage by remaining in the lane..sucking the defense away from the drive. If A4 is in a spot that doesn't put B in such a position, no call.

Just playing devil's advocate here, but isn't this, in essence, exactly the same as blowing the whistle for the 3-second violation as a 3-pt. try is being released? (say, for example, that the defender has to chose between sticking with the A player in the lane or going out to run at/contest the 3-pt. try)

In my mind it is, and I won't make that call.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 09, 2008 07:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 556803)
Just playing devil's advocate here, but isn't this, in essence, exactly the same as blowing the whistle for the 3-second violation as a 3-pt. try is being released? (say, for example, that the defender has to chose between sticking with the A player in the lane or going out to run at/contest the 3-pt. try)

In my mind it is, and I won't make that call.

No....that defender has no chance to get to an 'in-progress' three pointer if they're still defending A5 when A5 has been there at 3 seconds.

BillyMac Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:32pm

Spirit Of The Rule ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 556650)
Absolutely: I suspend the count if a player is driving to the basket, but if he stops or passes, violation.

Sounds like Intent and Purpose to me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1