The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 11:54am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No.

Part of learning how to do this thing call officiating involves teaching yourself to focus on your primary. For me, this means not making calls on things like this out of my primary. Once I quit blowing my whistle on these plays, it became easier to quit ball watching.
That seemed pretty definitive, Snaqs.

Not so for me. Sometimes I can see to help a partner on those threes [only twice, so far]

Once was like the original post, but instead of my good partner [Zebra44] marking a three [cuz he wasn't gonna guess the three like the OP indicated], he looked at me and I helped. I was [2-whistle] Lead and the players parted, like the Red Sea, to give me the view.

The other time, a lesser partner [Strong-side Trail] guessed and marked a three near our primary intersections, and I changed it to two on the fly.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
If your partner is staying that far out from the action, it makes it rough for you. He wasn't where he needed to be. If the action was, as you say, around the perimeter, there may not have been much going on in your primary. I can easily imagine that you'd see the play clearly, and then you do have an obligation to get it right. However, I'd had talked to the partner about changing it himself, rather than just overriding him at the table.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 12:06pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
If your partner is staying that far out from the action, it makes it rough for you. He wasn't where he needed to be. If the action was, as you say, around the perimeter, there may not have been much going on in your primary. I can easily imagine that you'd see the play clearly, and then you do have an obligation to get it right. However, I'd had talked to the partner about changing it himself, rather than just overriding him at the table.
Not me, Jewel.
Partner guessed and that was the *No,no*.
I would quietly tell him later.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
We all look out of our PCA, let be honest. If you see it, I think most have the opinion about getting it right. I would always talk with my partner and let him change the call however.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 12:25pm
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
We could add shades of gray to discussion.

I'm lead.
Shooter is:
In my PCA. All good

In 'trouble area' FT line extended in front of me.
--- In 'trouble area' after moving from my PCA
--- In 'trouble area' coming from top of lane

Just out of 'trouble area' between FT line extended at top of arc top of lane
--- In this area after moving from my PCA (say off of screen I'm observing)

There are times when lead has information on plays like this, properly, fortuitously, (or both) obtained.

I am in the "Get it right -- by providing partner with information" school. Fortunately I have yet to have that partner who doesn't take my information because they want to save face to the detriment of the players.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1