The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   The Ultimate Free Throw situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50168-ultimate-free-throw-situation.html)

fiasco Thu Dec 04, 2008 06:26pm

I guess here's another way to apply logic to the question:

If the rules intended for us to cancel the attempt and only award one FT to A3, then why even have that be a correctable error in the first place? The outcome, according to my initial interpretation, is the same either way, so why even have the rule?

Camron Rust Thu Dec 04, 2008 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 555504)
I'll give it a shot:

A2's basket counts.

Charge a technical foul to A1 for deliberately taking a FT to which he was not entitled.

Give A3 two FTs with the lane cleared.

B gets two technical foul FTs and the subsequent throw-in at the division line.

This lines highlighted in red are only a maybe...most likely...but not always.

If team A is in the bonus and A3 was involved in a part of the play that could have also been a foul, A3 may legitimately believe that they were due the FTs. In that case, there would be no T.

AKOFL Thu Dec 04, 2008 08:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 555523)
I would think the same thing, except 2-10-4 states that the free throw shall be canceled. Note that it does NOT say that the successful free throw shall be canceled. It says the free throw period.

So, I have A3 attempting ONE free throw with the lane cleared.

The case book does not clarify this.

Thoughts?

I would think that it means to cancle the free throw by the wrong player not the free throw in general. A3 should still get his two shots he never recieved. he already lost them once, why twice. If i'm following your thought? sometime I only make sence to myself

jdw3018 Thu Dec 04, 2008 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 555538)
This lines highlighted in red are only a maybe...most likely...but not always.

If team A is in the bonus and A3 was involved in a part of the play that could have also been a foul, A3 may legitimately believe that they were due the FTs. In that case, there would be no T.

Agreed, Camron, though the OP made clear that the officials judged it as an intentional act to deceptively shoot the FTs in place of the appropriate player. That obviously makes it a T.

derwil Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:28pm

Correctable error
 
OK Five correctable errors are:

1 Failure to award FT
2 Allowing unmerited FT
3 Wrong player attempts FT
4 Attempting FT @ wrong basket
5 Erroneously counting/canceling a score

Therefore, I would have T on A1 for unsportsmanlike. A3 shoots 2 with the lane cleared for reason #3. A's basket taken off the scoreboard for reasons #1 (no second shot), 2 (A1 not the correct shooter), 3 (A1 not the correct shooter), and 5 (wrong FT shooter, should have has second shot etc.). B shoots 2 tech FTs and has ball at division line.

That sound right?

Camron Rust Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 555552)
Agreed, Camron, though the OP made clear that the officials judged it as an intentional act to deceptively shoot the FTs in place of the appropriate player. That obviously makes it a T.



Agreed.

Adam Fri Dec 05, 2008 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 555557)
OK Five correctable errors are:

1 Failure to award FT
2 Allowing unmerited FT
3 Wrong player attempts FT
4 Attempting FT @ wrong basket
5 Erroneously counting/canceling a score

Therefore, I would have T on A1 for unsportsmanlike. A3 shoots 2 with the lane cleared for reason #3. A's basket taken off the scoreboard for reasons #1 (no second shot), 2 (A1 not the correct shooter), 3 (A1 not the correct shooter), and 5 (wrong FT shooter, should have has second shot etc.). B shoots 2 tech FTs and has ball at division line.

That sound right?

A2's basket counts based on 2-10-5,
Quote:

Points scored, consumed time, and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of the error, shall not be nullified.

AKOFL Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 555692)
A2's basket counts based on 2-10-5,

That was my thought. Points scored stand but fouls unless intentional or flagrant are nulified. Another reason to take ur time when u make the first call. Get the fouler, foulee, shots, no shots, spot throw-in, comunicate to partners then report. all kinds of time once the wistle blows!

Adam Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 555724)
That was my thought. Points scored stand but fouls unless intentional or flagrant are nulified.

Close, the rule says the free throw and activity during it are nullified unless flagrant or intentional. A2's basket did not come during the free throw, it came after. That's why it didn't get nullified. Had A2 been fouled on the shot, this would have even been more fun.
You'd have A3 shoot his two.
A2 then gets his one free throw.
B gets to pick a shooter.
B gets the ball at the division line.

AKOFL Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 555727)
Close, the rule says the free throw and activity during it are nullified unless flagrant or intentional. A2's basket did not come during the free throw, it came after. That's why it didn't get nullified. Had A2 been fouled on the shot, this would have even been more fun.
You'd have A3 shoot his two.
A2 then gets his one free throw.
B gets to pick a shooter.
B gets the ball at the division line.

since it wasn't durring the free throw, kinda sounds like what I said

Adam Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 555724)
That was my thought. Points scored stand but fouls unless intentional or flagrant are nulified. Another reason to take ur time when u make the first call. Get the fouler, foulee, shots, no shots, spot throw-in, comunicate to partners then report. all kinds of time once the wistle blows!

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 555731)
since it wasn't durring the free throw, kinda sounds like what I said

Sorry, it wasn't what I read. :) My bad.

AKOFL Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 555733)
Sorry, it wasn't what I read. :) My bad.

It's all good. sometimes I don't know what I wrote.lol

Back In The Saddle Fri Dec 05, 2008 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 555737)
It's all good. sometimes I don't know what I wrote.lol

Flexible language. It's great for use with coaches and wives. ;)

derwil Fri Dec 05, 2008 09:41pm

Reading further in 2-10-5 ............
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 555692)
A2's basket counts based on 2-10-5,

Further in 2-10-05 it says: Errors because of free-throw attemps by the wrong player or at the wrong basket shall be corrected by applying 8-1 and 2.

Isn't the basket by A2 because of the wrong player attempting a free throw?

Adam Sat Dec 06, 2008 01:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 555826)
Further in 2-10-05 it says: Errors because of free-throw attemps by the wrong player or at the wrong basket shall be corrected by applying 8-1 and 2.

Isn't the basket by A2 because of the wrong player attempting a free throw?

No, the basket by A2 was because of the failure to award a merited free throw. Regardless, not sure how 8-1 and 8-2 affect this, they simply lay out the rules for correctly administering a free throw.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1