Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. |
Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:07pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL
(Post 555137)
so B1 is recieving a pass on the run. It is a little out of reach. so he reaches out and swats it out of the air to the floor then procedes to pic it up and start his dribble. Is this double dribble?
|
NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!!
With apologies to the late J. Dallas Shirley, always give the benefit of the doubt to the player when he is trying to gain control of the ball in this situation. I am not saying that it is not possible for a player to gain control of the ball through the action of swatting of the ball as you describe, but the probablity of it is very, very, very, very small.
MTD, Sr.
P.S. AKOFL: My emphasis was not specifically intended for you but for the coaches and officials who lurk in the shadows of this Forum and will rule this an illegal dribble everytime. This year at the OhioHSAA State Rules Meetings this exact play was shown to everybody. It occured during the State Finals a few years ago and was ruled an illegal dribble. What made it worse was the State Rules Interpreter at the meeting at which I saw the tape thought it was the correct call.
|