![]() |
Odd Looking Play in Duke Game
Duke big man has the ball at top of key. Duke guard coming to get the ball behind the big man but he's being pressured by Purdue defender. He stops to try to get away from his defender. Duke big man thinks he's coming behind him and "drops" the ball to the floor. Duke big man then realizes the Duke guard is not there and picks it up.
Would the "drop" constitute a dribble? He didn't push it or tap it. He literally (intentionally) dropped it. He had not used his dribble prior to this pass/drop. Anything? |
Not to hijack your thread, but I noticed another strange play in the game. Purdue guard in the corner jumps for a shot, Duke player flies in for the block. Purdue guard pushes the ball to the floor in mid air, lands, then dribbles.
No call. :eek: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
so B1 is recieving a pass on the run. It is a little out of reach. so he reaches out and swats it out of the air to the floor then procedes to pic it up and start his dribble. Is this double dribble?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Could it introduce any confusion about whether an action was a fumble, or because of the changed definition, a dribble? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
IMHO = In my humble opinion. There are a few others you'll see sometimes as well: IIRC - If I recall correctly AFAIK - As far as I know YMMV - Your mileage may vary OP - Original post, original poster LOL - Laughing out loud IOW - In other words |
Thanks. I never thought at 34 i would be old school. I mean reading in full sentences. I new i should of cut more corners in school. LOL (u like that)
|
Quote:
You think you're old school now? Give it another couple more years. We'll be holding captains meetings via text message while the crew is dressing and the captains are shooting layups in warmups with their free hand. Of course, the U2 will have to conduct the meeting. It'll take too long for the crusty old R to figure out how to send a text message. :D |
What would be the correct violation call on a player who jumps then starts a dribble?
|
Quote:
If the pivot foot is lifted before releasing the ball to start a dribble, it is a traveling violation. |
Quote:
But, what if the Duke big man had already killed his dribble ... Could he pick it up then? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
No he was handing it off (passing it IMO)...
|
Not a double dribble....
A dribble is a control push or bat of the ball towards the floor. If he passed it and was fast enough to get the pass, he can retrieve. If he dropped the ball, he can pick up even after dribble. In neither case can he dribble again though... Anyone can pick up a loose ball. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! With apologies to the late J. Dallas Shirley, always give the benefit of the doubt to the player when he is trying to gain control of the ball in this situation. I am not saying that it is not possible for a player to gain control of the ball through the action of swatting of the ball as you describe, but the probablity of it is very, very, very, very small. MTD, Sr. P.S. AKOFL: My emphasis was not specifically intended for you but for the coaches and officials who lurk in the shadows of this Forum and will rule this an illegal dribble everytime. This year at the OhioHSAA State Rules Meetings this exact play was shown to everybody. It occured during the State Finals a few years ago and was ruled an illegal dribble. What made it worse was the State Rules Interpreter at the meeting at which I saw the tape thought it was the correct call. |
Did anyone see this play?
Was it correctly called? |
Quote:
AKOFL: Welcome to the Forum. I hope you enjoy your visits here. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
So do we all agree that the "drop" constitutes a dribble?
|
according to dbking's post ... that would be no.
|
Personally, I think it does constitute a dribble.
A1 standing with the ball, never having dribbled. He drops the ball so that it bounces, takes a step and picks the ball up off the bounce with both hands. Are you going to let him dribble again? |
Quote:
But if he had already dribbled - would that have been a double dribble if he picked it up? And had he not dribbled - do you have anything? |
Quote:
If it had not dribbled, that would be his one legal dribble. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
"Licentious" Plate Tribute Rejected |
I think it must be his alma mater.
http://www.thinkgeek.com/images/prod...ty_updated.jpg |
South Texas Foreigner University?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24pm. |