The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2000, 01:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

This one must be a "thinker," because no one has touched it yet. My initial reaction was that the refs did it right, thinking that the ball was not in "team control" during a free throw to be followed by a throw-in. But since the double-foul occured during the front end of a 1-and-1, the ball was in fact live and (here's the big question) therefore in Team A's control (??). By rule, team control continues until the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal, but I'm not sure if that also applies to a free-throw. At the same time, while the NF book specifies no team control during a jump ball or throw-in, it doesn't specifically mention free-throws. So, at this point, unless there is a specific exception listed in the NCAA book, that would suggest the ball should have gone back to Team A for a throw-in on the baseline without going to the arrow. I'll have to check my college book for its wording on the double-foul rule, unless someone else has it at hand and can shed additional light on the matter.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1