The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Leaving the court--Tech Foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50040-leaving-court-tech-foul.html)

Skarecrow Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:22pm

Leaving the court--Tech Foul?
 
Team A, 44....Team B, 40....2 minutes in the game..Sophomore Girls...Team A substitutes two players. I watch one head to the bench, while the other left at half court division line into the stands to retrieve something from Dad, and then down to the floor and around to the baseline, and then to the bench. Tech? Teaching moment? No call? I let it go, and nobody cared, but I don't think that is the right call....I let it go because of the quality of play and the "learning curve" nature of the game.....Did I goof?

truerookie Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:53pm

Let it go!

derwil Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:57pm

Benched
 
Once the players leave the confines of the court, they are considered bench personnel. So far as I know, there are no restrictions on bench personnel movement other that standing up while play is on the court. I would probably ask the coach to let her know the correct substitution procedures and to exit the court towards the bench so that there is not a "delay of game" warning posted to her team. A"T" is unwarrented as this was not a disruption to the game by bench personnel.

Just my opinion

Adam Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 553289)
Once the players leave the confines of the court, they are considered bench personnel. So far as I know, there are no restrictions on bench personnel movement other that standing up while play is on the court. I would probably ask the coach to let her know the correct substitution procedures and to exit the court towards the bench so that there is not a "delay of game" warning posted to her team. A"T" is unwarrented as this was not a disruption to the game by bench personnel.

Just my opinion

How you gonna justify that one, partner?

My two bits: There's nothing to do here. Let it go, the only rule broken is that a member of the bench left the bench to get something. Yeah, it's technically a violation, but it's frankly an example of OOO to call this.

Skarecrow Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 553295)
How you gonna justify that one, partner?

My two bits: There's nothing to do here. Let it go, the only rule broken is that a member of the bench left the bench to get something. Yeah, it's technically a violation, but it's frankly an example of OOO to call this.

Thanks, that's how I felt....I feel better and at peace.....

Mark Padgett Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:18am

I never let players go up into the stands unless they bring me back some popcorn. Of course, Diebler sells it to them. ;)

BillyMac Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:37am

Rule Of Common Sense ...
 
10-1-4 Team Technical: Team members shall not fail to occupy the team member's bench to which it is assigned.

Just because it's a rule, doesn't mean you have to call it in this situation.

Skarecrow Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 553315)
10-1-4 Team Technical: Team members shall not fail to occupy the team member's bench to which it is assigned.

Just because it's a rule, doesn't mean you have to call it in this situation.

Well, she came right back to the bench....25 seconds delay is all....just via the stands and her father, and not straight to the bench....I think it was a "no-call," as others have said.....and I believe you're right...just because it's there, doesn't mean it has to be called...at least in this one....THANKS....

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 26, 2008 08:14am

While I agree that in this case, a word to the coach is the most we should consider, we should also remember that 3 or 4 years ago, this exact situation was a POE for the NFHS. Team members are required to be on the bench, not in the stands. In this case, since she came back fairly quickly, I have nothing. But if a team member goes to sit with friends or something similar, this is not allowed.

Skarecrow Wed Nov 26, 2008 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 553348)
While I agree that in this case, a word to the coach is the most we should consider, we should also remember that 3 or 4 years ago, this exact situation was a POE for the NFHS. Team members are required to be on the bench, not in the stands. In this case, since she came back fairly quickly, I have nothing. But if a team member goes to sit with friends or something similar, this is not allowed.

good point...well taken.....

CoachP Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skarecrow (Post 553282)
Team A, 44....Team B, 40....2 minutes in the game..Sophomore Girls...Team A substitutes two players. I watch one head to the bench, while the other left at half court division line into the stands to retrieve something from Dad, and then down to the floor and around to the baseline, and then to the bench. Tech? Teaching moment? No call? I let it go, and nobody cared, but I don't think that is the right call....I let it go because of the quality of play and the "learning curve" nature of the game.....Did I goof?

No call but good teaching moment, Dad could have just as easily brought the *insert item here* down.

doubleringer Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:04am

I agree with everyone else. I'm sure I would have been concentrating on the game and would not have seen a player leave, even if I saw it. :D

refnrev Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:56am

Two questions. What age level was this and what did she go to get. It might have been an inhaler or something like that. I've got this one filed under the I'm not gonna see this category.

Skarecrow Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev (Post 553413)
Two questions. What age level was this and what did she go to get. It might have been an inhaler or something like that. I've got this one filed under the I'm not gonna see this category.

Sophomore Girls....I think she retrieved a warm-up jacket...could have been a health issue....And the path from the bucket to the bench was right past me...I couldn't miss her absence....No way not to notice.....but, anyway, I decided to ignore it due to the level of play, and the "learning curve," and the fact that she came right back. I think all of these posts support that view...An inhaler definitely is a no-call....Thanks

jdmara Wed Nov 26, 2008 03:08pm

Even though you could probably call something if you wanted to, I would never pick up the dirty end of the stick.

-Josh


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1