![]() |
Leaving the court--Tech Foul?
Team A, 44....Team B, 40....2 minutes in the game..Sophomore Girls...Team A substitutes two players. I watch one head to the bench, while the other left at half court division line into the stands to retrieve something from Dad, and then down to the floor and around to the baseline, and then to the bench. Tech? Teaching moment? No call? I let it go, and nobody cared, but I don't think that is the right call....I let it go because of the quality of play and the "learning curve" nature of the game.....Did I goof?
|
Let it go!
|
Benched
Once the players leave the confines of the court, they are considered bench personnel. So far as I know, there are no restrictions on bench personnel movement other that standing up while play is on the court. I would probably ask the coach to let her know the correct substitution procedures and to exit the court towards the bench so that there is not a "delay of game" warning posted to her team. A"T" is unwarrented as this was not a disruption to the game by bench personnel.
Just my opinion |
Quote:
My two bits: There's nothing to do here. Let it go, the only rule broken is that a member of the bench left the bench to get something. Yeah, it's technically a violation, but it's frankly an example of OOO to call this. |
Quote:
|
I never let players go up into the stands unless they bring me back some popcorn. Of course, Diebler sells it to them. ;)
|
Rule Of Common Sense ...
10-1-4 Team Technical: Team members shall not fail to occupy the team member's bench to which it is assigned.
Just because it's a rule, doesn't mean you have to call it in this situation. |
Quote:
|
While I agree that in this case, a word to the coach is the most we should consider, we should also remember that 3 or 4 years ago, this exact situation was a POE for the NFHS. Team members are required to be on the bench, not in the stands. In this case, since she came back fairly quickly, I have nothing. But if a team member goes to sit with friends or something similar, this is not allowed.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I agree with everyone else. I'm sure I would have been concentrating on the game and would not have seen a player leave, even if I saw it. :D
|
Two questions. What age level was this and what did she go to get. It might have been an inhaler or something like that. I've got this one filed under the I'm not gonna see this category.
|
Quote:
|
Even though you could probably call something if you wanted to, I would never pick up the dirty end of the stick.
-Josh |
This is a good no call. Imagine if you would have called something and then were told the item she went up to get was a personal hygiene device. :eek:
|
Thanks everyone......
|
Look, It's Suzy Chapstick Playing Basketball ...
Quote:
|
First, welcome to the forum.
Second, if you are willing to take some criticism, you will learn a lot. Third, I will now correct all of the inaccurate statements in your first post. Basically, the stuff that you think that you know, but you really don't know. ;) Quote:
Here's an old play ruling from the NFHS which demonstrates why what you have written above is incorrect: 1999-2000 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 6: Player A4 leaves the playing floor before her substitute has an opportunity to report to the scorer’s table. During which time, player A4 disrespectfully addresses the nearest official. RULING: The official assesses a technical foul on player A4. There is no indirect technical foul charged to the head coach because A4 has not been replaced and is not considered bench personnel. (3-3-3, 4-34-1, 2, 3) Quote:
2005-06 POINTS OF EMPHASIS 1. Sporting Behavior. The NFHS Basketball Rules Committee continues to be concerned with player, coach and fan behavior. While administrators continue to focus on solutions, it is imperative that all parties involved accept responsibility and improve behavior. Specifically, the committee wants the following addressed: ... B. Time-outs: When a team goes on a scoring run, emotions often run high. Nationwide, there is an apparent increase in bench personnel running out onto the court after a time-out is whistled. Typically, the bench personnel of the team that has gained momentum run out onto the court to celebrate and congratulate their teammates. The other team's players, heading toward their bench area, often cross with the celebrating team. This situation often leads to bumping, pushing and/or taunting. Coaches must make sure that bench personnel remain in the team bench area (1-13-3) after a time-out is called. Officials must be aware of the potential for confrontation, use preventive officiating techniques and penalize appropriately. 2004-05 POINTS OF EMPHASIS 3. A. ...The committee is also concerned about bench personnel leaving the bench, sometimes during a live ball. Heading into the hallway to get a drink or sitting up in the stands with friends or family, even for a short period of time, are not authorized reasons unless they are medically related. Coaches must ensure that bench personnel remain on the bench. Quote:
2. There are ONLY four specific reasons that a delay of game warning can be issued to a team. Unless one of these four actions has occurred an official cannot charge one to a team. RULE 4, SECTION 47 WARNING FOR DELAY A warning to a team for delay is an administrative procedure by an official which is recorded in the scorebook by the scorer and reported to the coach: ART. 1 . . . For throw-in plane violations, as in 9-2-10, 10-1-5c. ART. 2 . . . For huddle by either team and contact with the free thrower, as in 10-1-5d. ART. 3 . . . For interfering with the ball following a goal as in 10-1-5e. ART. 4 . . . For failure to have the court ready for play following any time-out as in 10-1-5f. As you can see the action described above is not one of these four, so it would be incorrect to issue a warning for delay in this case. Quote:
2. That is your opinion, but another official may believe differently and, as already detailed above, there certainly is rules support for charging a technical foul here. Quote:
If you are willing to stick around, take some heat for your comments, and open your mind to learning new things, then the folks here will increase your rules knowledge and make you a better official. Best wishes. |
Quote:
|
Doesn't Get Better Than This ...
Quote:
Speaking of citations. Two of my three free sources of citations has disappeared form the internet, the NFHS rules, and the NFHS caseplays, from the EOfficials website. The only free citations that I can find are the NFHS rules only on the Middle Tennessee Basketball Officials Association website, and portions of the longer rules, like Rule 4 Definitions, aren't included. Are there any other free websites available, and if not, what is the cheapest way to get access to NFHS rules, and caseplays, online? NFHS? EOfficials? Someplace else? I'm so cheap that I squeeze a nickel so tightly that the buffalo has a bowel movement. Great segue from the buffalo on the tail side of the nickel, to the proud Native American on the other side, to Happy Thanksgiving. |
In a game I saw last year where a T was given. A player is substituted after an inbound. Goes off and on then off and is off when the play is resumed. Coach didn't mean for him to be subbed. But he is standing to the side(table) of the coach right near the sideline. I know the player must be at the bench or at the table but in this case it could have been confusing to the defense whether or not the player was in. He just stood there for about five seconds or so and then the T was given. Would that be a delay of game warning or a T?
|
Quote:
The question is, had this player been subbed for, meaning there were 5 other players on the court at the time? If so, he's bench personnel and must be in the bench area during play. Standing on a sideline someplace else is defenitely T worthy. If he was one of the 5, there is a T for delaying a return to the playing court after being out of bounds for a legitimate reason. I'm not sure from this post which situation this was. |
thanks for the replies- and from the original posts I learned it wasn't a delay of game. In mine there were five other players and the player who just subbed out continued to stand on the sideline between the table and where the coach was. So I guess a delay isn't called for there and a T is ok but not on the specific player.
|
Quote:
Quote:
10.3.2 SITUATION B: After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both Team A and Team B, A5 goes to the bench and remains there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A’s frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches up with the play. RULING: No technical foul is charged to A5. A5’s return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court. Thanks for letting me show the new guy that we pick on you too, Snaqs. ;) PS If this player had been the thrower on the inbounds play, then Snaqs would be correct, but I don't believe that was the case in the situation described by mutantducky. |
It's called game management. Now unless she causing disruption or didn't return, I wouldn't call it. No need to start a riot and cause the coaching staff to get all fired up for something that is minor. That's a good no call!
-Lucas |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57pm. |