The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Yeah but A1 can also bounce the ball OOB prior to the pass inbounds....so if he sits it down you call a violation but he drops it and it bounces twice while he wipes his hands you dont?

No violation... Delay of game
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 11:27am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
The Plot Thickens ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
Yeah but A1 can also bounce the ball OOB prior to the pass inbounds. So if he sits it down you call a violation but he drops it and it bounces twice while he wipes his hands you don't? No violation. Delay of game
Another monkey wrench is thrown into the Forum machine. This is great, but, I'm just going to sit back and watch. I don't want to get hurt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 11:53am
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
Yeah but A1 can also bounce the ball OOB prior to the pass inbounds....
Wasn't aware of that. Citation or case?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 12:21pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Wasn't aware of that. Citation or case?
A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not traveling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin.

I'm sure that someone will post the real citation in a few minutes.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 12:27pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
Got It ...

NFHS 9.2.2 Situation D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. Ruling: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 12:37pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,380
Jeez Louise...can this get any more muddled?

Well...there we have it. Seems the Fed allowed this case to fly in the face of it's own rule. Luckily, in the 8 years I've been doing HS ball, no one has ever dribbled a throw in I was administering. Not sure what I would have done...

With regard to the OP then, we need to debate whether placing a ball OB is materially different than bouncing it. Doesn't seem like a rule book is going to help here. Headache seems to be coming back.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 12:47pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
"No Dog In This Fight" (Michael Vick), Remember Him ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Headache seems to be coming back.
Do what I'm doing. Just sit back and enjoy the ride.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 12:49pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
Who You Gonna Call ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Luckily, in the 8 years I've been doing HS ball, no one has ever dribbled a throw in I was administering. Not sure what I would have done.
That's why we have the Mythbusters.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 22, 2008, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Here's a little stronger ammo, I think, to the dribbling while OOB for a throw-in question:

NFHS 6-1-1 "The game and each extra period shall be started by a jump ball in the center restraining circle. After any subsequent dead ball, the only way to get the ball live is to resume play by a jump ball in the center restraining circle, by a throw-in or by a free throw. The dribble and traveling rules are not in effect in these situations."

NFHS Basketball Rules Fundamentals, #5 "5. Neither the dribble nor traveling rule operates during the jump ball, throw-in or free throw. "
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 23, 2008, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Well...there we have it. Seems the Fed allowed this case to fly in the face of it's own rule. Luckily, in the 8 years I've been doing HS ball, no one has ever dribbled a throw in I was administering. Not sure what I would have done...

With regard to the OP then, we need to debate whether placing a ball OB is materially different than bouncing it. Doesn't seem like a rule book is going to help here. Headache seems to be coming back.

I dont think it is as muddled as it appears....I have mdified thre rule with the definitions...

Rule 9-2-2: The ball shall be thrown, batted, or rolled by another player by the thrower directly into the court from out of bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (in bounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. The opeartive word is pass

If he aint passing and drbbling and traveling dont apply during a throw-in, it must be legal.... If it's not prohibited, it is allowed.
i
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inquiring Minds Want To Know ??? BillyMac Basketball 43 Tue Nov 25, 2008 08:36pm
T or no T, part II Lotto Basketball 16 Fri Dec 21, 2007 04:33pm
Part II SouthGARef Football 2 Tue Sep 12, 2006 07:40am
Gonna blow your minds, ASA folks WestMichBlue Softball 6 Mon Mar 07, 2005 07:17am
Part 1 and Part 2 NFHS tests WindyCityBlue Baseball 28 Mon Nov 22, 2004 02:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1