![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The play is most similar to this. I would call a delay of game warning on Team B. *7.5.1 SITUATION B: Team A does not break the huddle after the second horn for a 60-second time-out. The official puts the ball down at the designated spot and begins the five-second count. The administering official is between four and five on the count when Team B reaches over the boundary and grabs the ball. RULING: Delay-of-game warning on Team B for reaching across the plane. No Team A member ever possessed the ball for the throw-in; therefore, a technical foul would not be assessed. (9-2 Penalty 3) |
|
|||
|
I agree with the call for DELAY, but what about the action of placing the ball on the floor? I don't think your Sit. applies in that regard. Any argument for a throw in violation by A1 for his action, thus making the reach across irrelevant? Is that what BITS is referring to?
I wish these minds would stop inquiring. It IS the weekend. These make my head hurt. |
|
|||
|
I'm worrried about my 401(K) ???
Great citation Nevadaref. I thought that this would end the thread until I read Bad Zebra's post after yours. In the citation, it states that, "No Team A member ever possessed the ball for the throw-in; therefore, a technical foul would not be assessed". However, in the original post case, the Team A player did have the ball at his disposal for a throwin. Close, but no cigar, yet.
Great citation, followed by a great followup question. No off topic posts, no images, no name calling, no inside jokes. I think that this is what the moderators were asking for several weeks ago, and this is what Scrapper1 predicted would happen. Scrapper1: Has the stock market bottomed out yet?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Nov 22, 2008 at 11:23am. |
|
|||
|
OK. Here we go.
Rule 9-2-2: The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out of bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (in bounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. Penalty: The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw in at the original throw in spot. So then, knucklehead A1 violated by placing the ball out of bounds untouched to dry his hands. TWEET! Dead Ball...reach across is irrelevant (ball is dead). B throw in the other way. Maybe he deserved the violation for picking a live ball opportunity to dry his hands? In any event, this is a lot of thought for a Saturday morning. |
|
|||
|
Yeah but A1 can also bounce the ball OOB prior to the pass inbounds....so if he sits it down you call a violation but he drops it and it bounces twice while he wipes his hands you dont?
No violation... Delay of game |
|
|||
|
The Plot Thickens ...
Another monkey wrench is thrown into the Forum machine. This is great, but, I'm just going to sit back and watch. I don't want to get hurt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...
A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not traveling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin.
I'm sure that someone will post the real citation in a few minutes.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Got It ...
NFHS 9.2.2 Situation D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. Ruling: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Inquiring Minds Want To Know ??? | BillyMac | Basketball | 43 | Tue Nov 25, 2008 08:36pm |
| T or no T, part II | Lotto | Basketball | 16 | Fri Dec 21, 2007 04:33pm |
| Part II | SouthGARef | Football | 2 | Tue Sep 12, 2006 07:40am |
| Gonna blow your minds, ASA folks | WestMichBlue | Softball | 6 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 07:17am |
| Part 1 and Part 2 NFHS tests | WindyCityBlue | Baseball | 28 | Mon Nov 22, 2004 02:49pm |