The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Not necessary: A1 rebounds the ball after a try. As he comes down with it, B1 hits his hand (not the ball), causing the ball to go OOB. Given that this is not a foul, it will be A's ball for a throwin.

A1 last touched the ball but did not cause it to go OOB.

Not sufficient: see the "unless" clause of 7-2-1. A1 throws the ball in, and B1 deflects it back into A1's body before A1 returns inbounds. It will be B's ball for a throwin.

A1 caused the ball to be OOB but was not the last (inbounds) player to touch it.

"Last to touch inbounds" is not the criterion of "caused to go out of bounds." Q.E.D.
Hmmmm.....maybe that's the same NFHS thinking that got us situation 10 regading the BC violation?

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gonna blow your minds, ASA folks WestMichBlue Softball 6 Mon Mar 07, 2005 07:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1