![]() |
|
|
|||
Research done by Bob Jenkins.
2000-2001 Interps (continued) SITUATION 18: A1 and B1 begin to fight during a dead-ball period. Two bench players from Team A, A6 and A7, leave the bench area and enter the court to be near the action. Bench player B6 also leaves the bench area onto the floor and begins fighting with bench player A6. RULING: A1, A6, A7, B1 and B6 are all disqualified and each is charged with a flagrant technical foul. The head coach from Team A is charged with two indirect technical fouls (one for A7 leaving the bench and one for A6 leaving the bench and becoming involved in the fight). The head coach from Team B is charged with one indirect technical foul (for B6 leaving the bench and becoming involved in the fight). Team B is awarded two free throws followed by the ball for a division line throw-in, because the number of participants does not correspond. (10-3-10; 10-4-1h; 10-4-4 Pen) SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00) SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the bail must be released for a try or pass. (4-43-3a; 9-4) SITUATION 2: During a throw-in by A1, in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps in the air and catches the ball. A2 then lands with the left foot in A’s frontcourt and then puts the right foot down in the backcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception in Rule 9-9 allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 1) SITUATION 3: A1 is in the act of shooting and is fouled by B1. The contact by B1 throws A1 off balance and in an effort to make a play A1 passes off to teammate A2 instead of proceeding through with an off-balance shot. The official rules that the pass-off by A1 is not a factor as it was not the original intent and only the result of the contact by B1. RULING: A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul committed by B1. COMMENT: Provided the official deems that A1 was in the act of shooting when fouled (the player had begun the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball for a try), the subsequent pass-off is ignored. (4-40-3; 4-40-1; Summary of Penalties #5) SITUATION 4: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul. The trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The trail official realizes the error and huddles with the lead official. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B’s head coach shall be notified of B2’s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official’s error and not a correctable error situation according to Rule 2-10. (10-6 Pen; 2-8-3; 10-5-1d) SITUATION 5: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting and is awarded two free throws. A1 is injured on the play and Team A’s coach has been beckoned on the floor to attend to A1. Although by rule A1 should leave the game until the next legal opportunity to substitute, the officials make an error and permit A1 to complete the free throws before leaving. The opposing coach objects and insists that A1’s substitute should have shot the free throws, and a correctable error has occurred. RULING: The officials made an error by permitting A1 to remain in the game. This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw, even though A1 is required to leave the game by rule. (3-3-5; 3-3-3) SITUATION 6: A1 is fouled and Team A is in the bonus. Before A1 attempts the one-and-one, A1 is whistled for a technical foul for taunting. A1 goes to the free-throw line to attempt the one-and-one with no players lined up. A1 makes the first free throw, then the horn sounds and the scorer indicates that A1’s technical foul was the fifth foul on A1. RULING: The result of A1’s first free throw shall stand and A1’s replacement shall attempt the remaining free throw (if the first was successful), before Team B shoots its technical foul free throws. COMMENT: This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw. A1 was not officially disqualified until the coach was notified. (3-3-3; 4-14-2; 2-8-3; 2-10-1c) SITUATION 7: A1 is attempting the second throw of a one-and-one when simultaneously B3 fouls A3, and A2 fouls B2 while the free throw is in flight. Both teams are in the bonus and B has the possession arrow. RULING: A2 and B3 are charged with personal fouls. Team B puts the ball in play with a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. COMNENT: This is incorrectly interpreted in the 2000-02 NFHS Basketball Handbook (p.81). (6-3-3g) SITUATION 8: A1 has started a try for a goal (is in the act of shooting), but the ball is not yet in flight when the official blows the whistle for B2 fouling A2. A1’s try is successful. RULING: A1’s goal shall count because the foul was committed by the defense after the try had begun. COMMENT: The foul by the defense need not be on the player in the act of shooting for continuous motion principles to apply. (6-7 Exp 3) |
|
|||
Research done by Bob Jenkins.
2001-2002 Interps SITUATION 1: After the made basket, A1 has the ball for a throw-in along the end line. B1 fouls A2 at: (a) the division line; (b) the free-throw line closest to the throw-in; (c) along the sideline by A’s bench; or (d) along the end line near A1. RULING: In (a) and (c) the ball is put in play at the out-of-bounds spot closest to where the foul occurred, which is along the sideline. A throw-in along the sideline is always a spot throw-in. In (b) and (d) the closest spot to the foul is the end line where the original throw-in was taking place. In both situations the thrower will retain the privilege of running the end line for the throw-in. (7-5-7) SITUATION 2: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (7-5-7, 7-5-11) SITUATION 3: While A1’s three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field-goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (5-7-7 Exp (2); 7-5-7) SITUATION 4: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 and B2 foul each other simultaneously. RULING: This is a double foul (fouls are recorded, but no free throws attempted), which results in an alternating possession throw-in. Even if Team B retains possession, its right to run the end line is negated by B2’s foul. Therefore, the throw-in is from a designated spot out of bounds nearest the foul. (6-3-3f) SITUATION 5: Both the home and visiting teams appear on the court wearing similar gold jerseys. RULING: The officials inform the home team that they must change to a different color jersey. The home team should wear light and visiting team dark jerseys. (3-4-6) SITUATION 6: The school-sponsored cheerleaders wish to use megaphones as part of their cheerleading routines from the sidelines. RULING: The new rule prohibiting artificial noisemakers would not apply to the cheerleaders in this situation. The megaphones would only be legal for the cheerleader’s use, provided they were being used appropriately. (1-18) SITUATION 7: A player, for religious reasons, may not wear shorts. Would he/she be able to wear tights under the basketball uniform shorts or warm-ups instead of shorts? RULING: NFHS basketball uniform rules do not require that the uniform pants be “shorts.” However, undergarments or tights may not be worn which extend below the pants. Wearing tights below the uniform shorts would be illegal. However, the player could wear long pants as the uniform “bottom” and be in compliance with NFHS rules. (3-4; 3-5-5) SITUATION 8: During the pre-game warm-up, the officials observe that A4 is wearing a ring with tape covering it. The officials notify A4 that he/she must remove the ring in order to participate in the pre-game warm-up and the game. A4 responds that the ring cannot physically be removed. RULING: The referee informs A4 and A’s head coach that A4 cannot participate while wearing a ring, even with the tape covering it. (3-5) SITUATION 9: At the end of their pre-game warm-up, players A1, A4, A5, A9 each dunk the ball and subsequently leave the floor and go to their dressing room. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to each player. The game starts with eight (8) free throws (2 for each of the technical fouls) and the ball is awarded to B at the division line opposite the table. Four team fouls toward the bonus are assessed to A. The head coach of A is assessed an indirect technical foul for each offense (4) and is subsequently ejected from the contest. Any coach assuming the responsibilities of the head coach for the game would not have the use of the coaching box. (10-3-5; 10-5 Pen) SITUATION 10: During a dead ball, Team A sends multiple substitutes (#33, #34 and #35) to report to enter the game. The substitutes will be replacing #22, #23 and #24, but, by rule, they do not indicate whom they will be replacing. A delay occurs in putting the ball back into play. During the delay or dead-ball period, replaced Team A player #23 re-enters the game without sitting out the required amount of time. The ball is put in play before the official scorer can recognize that #23 did not remain out of the game the required period of time. RULING: Once the ball became live after the illegal substitution, #23 becomes a legal player. (3-3-3) SITUATION 11: Each team and the official scorer have been notified that Team A has called a 30-second timeout. Team A decides to sit down on its bench. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The official should first inform the coach that his/her team is to remain standing during a 30-second timeout. If the coach refuses to adhere to the officials’ request, an unsporting technical shall be assessed. (5-12-5) SITUATION 12: Team A has used all allotted time-outs. The scorer notifies the referee, who properly advises the Team A coach at the beginning of Team A’s last called time-out. During play later in the game, A4 attempts to call time-out when he/she is being pressured by B2 and 83. U2 ignores the request by A4. RULING: U2 should honor the request of A4, even when this would be a time-out in excess of the number allotted. Game officials do not have discretionary authority to assist players in avoiding rules violations. (2-7-6; 5-12-2) SITUATION 13: With three-tenths of a second or less left in the first half, Team B has been charged with only four team fouls. A1 is at the free-throw line for one free throw. A1’s shot hits the rim and bounds off. A2 legally taps the ball toward the basket and is fouled by B3. The ball had left A2’s hand and the foul occurred before the period-ending horn sounded. The tap is unsuccessful. RULING: B3’s foul is considered in the “act of tapping” and will result in two free throws for A2. The lane will be cleared and the period ends after A2’s free throw attempts. (4-40-1; 4-40-5,6,7) SITUATION 14: A1, while dribbling near the sideline is close to his/her teams bench area when his/her coach reaches over and grasps A1’s arm to bring the player closer to the sideline to give instructions. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation. A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player, on or outside the boundary. (7-1-1) SITUATION 15: A1 is awarded two free throws. The officials fail to notice that A2 has lined up in one of the lower marked lane spaces that should be occupied by Team B. The officials discover it immediately after the first free throw is successful. RULING: The officials should call a double violation and cancel the first free throw. COMMENT: The officials could have prevented this double violation by observing player positions before putting the ball at the disposal of the shooter. Since they did not catch the violation before the free throw, the penalty for the violation must be enforced. (8-1-3; 9-1-2; 9-1 Pen (3)) |
|
|||
Research done by Bob Jenkins.
2001-2002 Interps (continued) SITUATION 16: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the mid-court line, has the ball strike the mid-court line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1) SITUATION 17: A1 is slowly dribbling the ball up the court. B1 is lightly “tagging” A1, but is not impeding A1’s forward motion. The official warns B1 to “keep hands off.” RULING: This is a foul. There is no warning. (10-6-1) SITUATION 18: A1 is driving towards his/her basket with B1 following. A1 goes up for a lay-up. B1 goes up as well and commits basketball interference. After the basket interference, but before either player returns to the floor, B1 also fouls airborne shooter A1. RULING: The basket interference causes the ball to become dead immediately. Team A is awarded two points for B1’s basket interference, Team B shall have a throw in from anywhere along the end line. B1’s foul is ignored unless deemed unsporting or flagrant. (9-11; 6-7-9) Note: The above interp (Situation 18) was revised on the FED website a few days after it was posted to recognize that a foul on an airborne shooter is not ignored just because the ball is dead. SITUATION 19: With four minutes remaining in the game and the score 82-36 with Team A leading, B5 commits his/her fifth personal foul. With four other members of Team B already being disqualified for their fifth foul, Team B has no available substitutes. The referee confers with both coaches and subsequently permits previously disqualified player B3 to return to the contest. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The referee, with or without approval of coaches, does not have the authority to set aside a rule, even if the intent is to be compassionate or fair. (10-6 Pen; 2-8-3) SITUATION 20: Team A is leading 61-60. B1 fouls A1 in the act of shooting as time expires. As the officials approach the scorer’s table, the Team A coach rushes the floor and begins screaming obscenities at the officials. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to the Team A coach. The foul at the expiration of time is no longer ignored. The technical foul on the Team A coach created a false double foul situation, which may affect the outcome of the game. The penalties will be administered in the order in which they occurred. With the lane cleared, A1 will shoot two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting. If both are successful, the game is over. If one or both are missed, an eligible player from Team B will shoot the two technical foul free throws. The free throws will determine the outcome of the game or an extra period will be played. COMMENT: Jurisdiction of the officials is terminated when all officials leave the visual confines of the playing area. While the preferred action would be for all officials to immediately leave the playing area, such an observable action by the coach should be penalized as unsporting. (5-6-4; 10-4-ic; 4-19-8; 5-6-3 Exp) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2024-25 | Indianaref | Basketball | 1 | Tue Nov 05, 2024 09:57am |
2024-25 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations ... | BillyMac | Basketball | 0 | Thu Oct 17, 2024 02:47pm |
NFHS Past and Present Rules Interps (Rules Changes through 2024) | Robert E. Harrison | Baseball | 14 | Fri Mar 15, 2024 04:50pm |
Past POE Archive | Freddy | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jan 03, 2017 07:53pm |
Added another audio pre-game to the archive. | ca_rumperee | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jan 16, 2008 07:35pm |