The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49534-double-dribble.html)

Raymond Tue Oct 28, 2008 07:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 546336)
How so? She was not holding the ball, which is fundamental to traveling.

My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.

OHBBREF Tue Oct 28, 2008 08:57am

okay there is no player control during an interupted dribble, and a player may directly resume dribbling of the ball upon recovery as long as it is part of the same dribble. (didn't pick up the ball - didn't trap it on the floor, and pick it up etc.).
however my question is this; wouldn't the dribble end when the ball was touched by another player, offense or defense?

If a dribble is batted by a defender then recovered by the dribbler, they can gather the ball and dribble again. If the dribbler accidently dribbles the ball off of a teammate they can gather the ball and dribble again.

I do not see any difference becase there is loss of player control durring an iterupted dribble and the ball was touched by another player IMO ending the dribble.
I got nothing here.

jdw3018 Tue Oct 28, 2008 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 546486)
okay there is no player control during an interupted dribble, and a player may directly resume dribbling of the ball upon recovery as long as it is part of the same dribble. (didn't pick up the ball - didn't trap it on the floor, and pick it up etc.).
however my question is this; wouldn't the dribble end when the ball was touched by another player, offense or defense?

If a dribble is batted by a defender then recovered by the dribbler, they can gather the ball and dribble again. If the dribbler accidently dribbles the ball off of a teammate they can gather the ball and dribble again.

I do not see any difference becase there is loss of player control durring an iterupted dribble and the ball was touched by another player IMO ending the dribble.
I got nothing here.

Re-read the original post. The ball didn't touch another player, it touched A1 again.

OHBBREF Tue Oct 28, 2008 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 546487)
Re-read the original post. The ball didn't touch another player, it touched A1 again.

OOPS - In that case -
try this,
since there is no player control during an interuppted dribble the touch by A1 did not re-establish control so it would be irrelivant to what happens next.

Back In The Saddle Tue Oct 28, 2008 06:03pm

To recap the OP: player dribbles, ends dribble, makes short pass, receiver runs away, player moves to where ball is now bouncing on floor and ball bounces into her.

IF we consider the end of this play to be an interrupted dribble, we have a problem because the player has already used her dribble, and a second dribble, interrupted or not, is an illegal dribble.

As Nevadaref pointed out earlier, either we have to consider the initial act of pushing the ball to the floor to be the start of a second dribble, which it clearly wasn't. Or else we don't have a dribble unless A1 retrieves and controls her errant pass, which she didn't do. So what it appears to have been is merely a loose ball that touched A1, but wasn't anything else. Well, that and a bad whistle. ;)

SamIAm Wed Oct 29, 2008 08:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 546476)
My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.

Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.

Raymond Wed Oct 29, 2008 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 546476)
My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 546810)
Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.

Yes it is...That would be a travel for lifting the pivot foot prior to starting a dribble. The same reason it is a travel when a player goes up for a jump shot, drops the ball, then retrieves it. That's a travel.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 29, 2008 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 546810)
Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.

Why not? The player lifted his/her pivot foot before beginning what turned out to be a dribble. That's travelling.

See 4.44.3B

SamIAm Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 546817)
Yes it is...That would be a travel for lifting the pivot foot prior to starting a dribble. The same reason it is a travel when a player goes up for a jump shot, drops the ball, then retrieves it. That's a travel.

It is only a travel if A1 has not picked-up the dribble. In the OP, the dribble had been picked-up. I do not see where you changed that scenario.

The NCAA case play is A.R. 200. This ruling is identical in FED. Illegal Dribble.

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?

SamIAm Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 546819)
Why not? The player lifted his/her pivot foot before beginning what turned out to be a dribble. That's travelling.

See 4.44.3B


4.44.3B has the player returning to the floor with the ball. BNRs sitch is with the ball being released.

Raymond Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 546844)
It is only a travel if A1 has not picked-up the dribble. In the OP, the dribble had been picked-up. I do not see where you changed that scenario.

The NCAA case play is A.R. 200. This ruling is identical in FED. Illegal Dribble.

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?

If a player passes the ball and retrieves the pass, that is considered a dribble.
  • If the player has not dribbled yet and does not lift his/her pivot prior to releasing the ball then it's a legal play.
  • If the player lifts his/her pivot foot (ie: jump) prior to releasing the ball it is a travel for lifting one's pivot prior to dribbling.
  • If the player has already completed a dribble prior to this action then it's an illegal dribble.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 29, 2008 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 546846)
4.44.3B has the player returning to the floor with the ball. BNRs sitch is with the ball being released.

In the 2008-09 book the player jumps, releases the ball and starts a dribble -- travelling violation. I thought that was the play being discussed. Apologies if it wasn't.

SamIAm Thu Oct 30, 2008 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 546889)
In the 2008-09 book the player jumps, releases the ball and starts a dribble -- travelling violation. I thought that was the play being discussed. Apologies if it wasn't.

I referenced an 06-07 online Fed version. It might be that my reference was incorrect. BNR's post #26 covers all the possibilities of which I am aware.
No apology necessary as no offense was taken. Friends?
(Boy isn't this kinder, gentler forum great!)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1