The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49534-double-dribble.html)

Back In The Saddle Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:01pm

Double dribble?
 
NCAA-W. A1 uses her dribble, then throws a short pass to A2. A2 doesn't see the pass coming and cuts the other direction. The ball bounces a couple of times. A1 hurries to the ball, is unsure of whether she can pick it up so she doesn't try to, but gets close enough that the ball bounces into her.

I called this a double dribble. Was I correct?

Nevadaref Sun Oct 26, 2008 04:07am

I would say no because a dribble is more than a touch. It is a controlled movement. In this case, I would not penalize the player for the ball touching her. I would only penalize her for touching the ball.

BillyMac Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:17am

I would have called an illegal dribble, but ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 545889)
I would say no because a dribble is more than a touch. It is a controlled movement. In this case, I would not penalize the player for the ball touching her. I would only penalize her for touching the ball.

NFHS 4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

The Forum is a great learning tool. I've been officiating for twenty-seven years, and up until a few minutes ago, I would have called an illegal dribble in this situation.

Didn't we have a similar question a few weeks ago about a similar pass that accidently strikes a teammate and bounces back to the first player? Was it decided that this was illegal?

Back In The Saddle Sun Oct 26, 2008 11:59am

It was also generally agreed that it's illegality was an obvious oversight in the rules, and that the act under discussion should not be illegal.

Back In The Saddle Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 545889)
I would say no because a dribble is more than a touch. It is a controlled movement. In this case, I would not penalize the player for the ball touching her. I would only penalize her for touching the ball.

Just to understand: Even though the ball went to the floor as a result of a controlled and deliberate movement (i.e., the pass), because she did not reach her hands out in an obvious attempt to touch the ball, it is not an illegal dribble? Even though she moved to the ball and placed herself in a position where she was touched by it?

What would you judge this act to be if not a dribble? It kinda meets the criteria of an interrupted dribble.

BillyMac Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:49pm

Interrupted Dribble Replay ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 545966)
It was also generally agreed that it's illegality was an obvious oversight in the rules, and that the act under discussion should not be illegal.

Found it. I hope this isn't considered a hijack because it presents a similar situation.

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...situation.html

Nevadaref Sun Oct 26, 2008 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 545970)
Just to understand: Even though the ball went to the floor as a result of a controlled and deliberate movement (i.e., the pass), because she did not reach her hands out in an obvious attempt to touch the ball, it is not an illegal dribble? Even though she moved to the ball and placed herself in a position where she was touched by it?

What would you judge this act to be if not a dribble? It kinda meets the criteria of an interrupted dribble.

There is nothing illegal about a player running to any particular spot on the floor. Please don't try to penalize anyone for that.

Yes, I believe that this qualifies as an interrupted dribble once the ball is clearly out of player control.

BillyMac Sun Oct 26, 2008 07:18pm

Interupted Dribble, NFHS Only ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 546040)
I believe that this qualifies as an interrupted dribble once the ball is clearly out of player control.

NFHS 4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler.

Are you sure? She deliberately threw a pass. The ball did momentarily get away from the her, but it was a pass. I certainly can see your reasoning, but I'm still not convinced.

Nevadaref Sun Oct 26, 2008 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 546049)
NFHS 4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler.

Are you sure? She deliberately threw a pass. The ball did momentarily get away from the her, but it was a pass. I certainly can see your reasoning, but I'm still not convinced.

When the "pass" did not go TO another player, but simply went into open space on the floor it became a dribble. Since it is clearly not in player control while it is momentarily beyond the reach of this player, it seems to me that it has to become an interrupted dribble.

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and
secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the
sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass.
Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the
court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing.
A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING:
Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a
dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass);
the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the
ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)

Back In The Saddle Sun Oct 26, 2008 09:49pm

So an interrupted dribble, which occurs after the player's original dribble has been used is not an illegal dribble? :eek:

Nevadaref Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 546100)
So an interrupted dribble, which occurs after the player's original dribble has been used is not an illegal dribble? :eek:

I see your point, BITS. However, if you are going to consider the "pass" to be a dribble, then you should sound the whistle and call a violation as soon as A1 begins the second dribble.

This is a strange play, but my opinion is still that it isn't a violation because it doesn't meet the intent and purpose of the rule. A1 was not trying to dribble a second time, nor was A1 trying to touch the ball after throwing it in the direction of A2.

Just my thoughts.

Back In The Saddle Mon Oct 27, 2008 12:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 546103)
I see your point, BITS. However, if you are going to consider the "pass" to be a dribble, then you should sound the whistle and call a violation as soon as A1 begins the second dribble.

This is a strange play, but my opinion is still that it isn't a violation because it doesn't meet the intent and purpose of the rule. A1 was not trying to dribble a second time, nor was A1 trying to touch the ball after throwing it in the direction of A2.

Just my thoughts.

You're right, this was a strange play. Just trying to understand it a little better. Nobody said a word about the call at the time; but that does not mean I got it right.

Just for my edification: If the situation were a little different, if she had passed the ball and then gone and actually picked it up, now we have an illegal dribble, correct?

Raymond Mon Oct 27, 2008 08:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 546130)

Just for my edification: If the situation were a little different, if she had passed the ball and then gone and actually picked it up, now we have an illegal dribble, correct?


Or travelling?

Back In The Saddle Mon Oct 27, 2008 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 546164)
Or travelling?

How so? She was not holding the ball, which is fundamental to traveling.

Nevadaref Mon Oct 27, 2008 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 546130)
You're right, this was a strange play. Just trying to understand it a little better. Nobody said a word about the call at the time; but that does not mean I got it right.

Just for my edification: If the situation were a little different, if she had passed the ball and then gone and actually picked it up, now we have an illegal dribble, correct?

Yes, that would clearly be a second dribble. :)

PS It's definitely not traveling, but sadly there are many officials who would call such. :(

Raymond Tue Oct 28, 2008 07:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 546336)
How so? She was not holding the ball, which is fundamental to traveling.

My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.

OHBBREF Tue Oct 28, 2008 08:57am

okay there is no player control during an interupted dribble, and a player may directly resume dribbling of the ball upon recovery as long as it is part of the same dribble. (didn't pick up the ball - didn't trap it on the floor, and pick it up etc.).
however my question is this; wouldn't the dribble end when the ball was touched by another player, offense or defense?

If a dribble is batted by a defender then recovered by the dribbler, they can gather the ball and dribble again. If the dribbler accidently dribbles the ball off of a teammate they can gather the ball and dribble again.

I do not see any difference becase there is loss of player control durring an iterupted dribble and the ball was touched by another player IMO ending the dribble.
I got nothing here.

jdw3018 Tue Oct 28, 2008 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 546486)
okay there is no player control during an interupted dribble, and a player may directly resume dribbling of the ball upon recovery as long as it is part of the same dribble. (didn't pick up the ball - didn't trap it on the floor, and pick it up etc.).
however my question is this; wouldn't the dribble end when the ball was touched by another player, offense or defense?

If a dribble is batted by a defender then recovered by the dribbler, they can gather the ball and dribble again. If the dribbler accidently dribbles the ball off of a teammate they can gather the ball and dribble again.

I do not see any difference becase there is loss of player control durring an iterupted dribble and the ball was touched by another player IMO ending the dribble.
I got nothing here.

Re-read the original post. The ball didn't touch another player, it touched A1 again.

OHBBREF Tue Oct 28, 2008 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 546487)
Re-read the original post. The ball didn't touch another player, it touched A1 again.

OOPS - In that case -
try this,
since there is no player control during an interuppted dribble the touch by A1 did not re-establish control so it would be irrelivant to what happens next.

Back In The Saddle Tue Oct 28, 2008 06:03pm

To recap the OP: player dribbles, ends dribble, makes short pass, receiver runs away, player moves to where ball is now bouncing on floor and ball bounces into her.

IF we consider the end of this play to be an interrupted dribble, we have a problem because the player has already used her dribble, and a second dribble, interrupted or not, is an illegal dribble.

As Nevadaref pointed out earlier, either we have to consider the initial act of pushing the ball to the floor to be the start of a second dribble, which it clearly wasn't. Or else we don't have a dribble unless A1 retrieves and controls her errant pass, which she didn't do. So what it appears to have been is merely a loose ball that touched A1, but wasn't anything else. Well, that and a bad whistle. ;)

SamIAm Wed Oct 29, 2008 08:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 546476)
My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.

Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.

Raymond Wed Oct 29, 2008 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 546476)
My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 546810)
Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.

Yes it is...That would be a travel for lifting the pivot foot prior to starting a dribble. The same reason it is a travel when a player goes up for a jump shot, drops the ball, then retrieves it. That's a travel.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 29, 2008 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 546810)
Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.

Why not? The player lifted his/her pivot foot before beginning what turned out to be a dribble. That's travelling.

See 4.44.3B

SamIAm Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 546817)
Yes it is...That would be a travel for lifting the pivot foot prior to starting a dribble. The same reason it is a travel when a player goes up for a jump shot, drops the ball, then retrieves it. That's a travel.

It is only a travel if A1 has not picked-up the dribble. In the OP, the dribble had been picked-up. I do not see where you changed that scenario.

The NCAA case play is A.R. 200. This ruling is identical in FED. Illegal Dribble.

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?

SamIAm Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 546819)
Why not? The player lifted his/her pivot foot before beginning what turned out to be a dribble. That's travelling.

See 4.44.3B


4.44.3B has the player returning to the floor with the ball. BNRs sitch is with the ball being released.

Raymond Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 546844)
It is only a travel if A1 has not picked-up the dribble. In the OP, the dribble had been picked-up. I do not see where you changed that scenario.

The NCAA case play is A.R. 200. This ruling is identical in FED. Illegal Dribble.

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?

If a player passes the ball and retrieves the pass, that is considered a dribble.
  • If the player has not dribbled yet and does not lift his/her pivot prior to releasing the ball then it's a legal play.
  • If the player lifts his/her pivot foot (ie: jump) prior to releasing the ball it is a travel for lifting one's pivot prior to dribbling.
  • If the player has already completed a dribble prior to this action then it's an illegal dribble.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 29, 2008 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 546846)
4.44.3B has the player returning to the floor with the ball. BNRs sitch is with the ball being released.

In the 2008-09 book the player jumps, releases the ball and starts a dribble -- travelling violation. I thought that was the play being discussed. Apologies if it wasn't.

SamIAm Thu Oct 30, 2008 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 546889)
In the 2008-09 book the player jumps, releases the ball and starts a dribble -- travelling violation. I thought that was the play being discussed. Apologies if it wasn't.

I referenced an 06-07 online Fed version. It might be that my reference was incorrect. BNR's post #26 covers all the possibilities of which I am aware.
No apology necessary as no offense was taken. Friends?
(Boy isn't this kinder, gentler forum great!)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1