The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2002, 06:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
kelvin
At all levels, the team that made the basket can then call TO. The only difference is whether or not the clock is already stopped.

As a coach under NF rules, sometimes you call the TO after basket strictly to get the clock stoppage. More frequently, you do this to ensure you have the right press completely set up, know which players are going to foul if you need to, maybe even sub in your reserve 2 guard who has a couple of fouls to burn so your point guard doesn't foul out. You may be calling these timeouts to prevent the quick inbounds from beating your press. So really, the timing issue frequently has little to do with why these TOs are called. And the TO rule is the same at all levels, from my observation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1