The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 09:00pm
CK CK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 87
A Little Help

A little backround, I have been off 2 years as a certified offical. As such I had to take part I of the NFHS over again. I received my test back and missed 4 questins. I found my mistakes on three of the four, but for the life of me cannot find my mistake on the fourth. When we receive our incorrects back, they do not point to a specific question but a group of questions. I very much agree with this idea. However after much review have drawn a blank on this final quetion I missed.

So any help would be greatly appreciated, as such here is the group with my reasoning.

"61. When an entire team is wearing illegal jerseys, only one team technical foul is assessed."

answer T; 10-5-4 PEN

"62.When an entire team is wearing illegal headbands, a technical foul is assessed directly to the head coach."

answer F; pg 70 comments and head bands come under equipment and not uniform. Remove or don't play.

"63. It is a technical foul if a player leaves the court for an unauthorized reason."

answer F; 9-3-3 violation: failure to return or deceit=T

"64. The throw-in is a designated spot nearest the violation after a goaltending violation by B1."

answer F; 7-5-7

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You

CK

Last edited by CK; Thu Oct 23, 2008 at 09:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
you missed 61. it is no longer a team tech for illegal uniforms it goes directly to the head coach see 10-5-4 this is a rule change this year.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAULK1 View Post
you missed 61. it is no longer a team tech for illegal uniforms it goes directly to the head coach see 10-5-4 this is a rule change this year.
Good catch, I missed that one too. I read it to mean that only one team foul was counted with regards to the bonus. I think it can an will be read that way by many that know that the coach is charged directly....becasue it still counts a as a team foul and it is also a technical foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Oct 24, 2008 at 05:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 03:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAULK1 View Post
you missed 61. it is no longer a team tech for illegal uniforms it goes directly to the head coach see 10-5-4 this is a rule change this year.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 03:34pm
CK CK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 87
Thanks everyone. I agree, good catch Paulk. Camron, that is exactly how I read it, with the understanding that only one penalty is assessed regardless of the number of infractions and charged directly to the head coach. The "team" part I was appling to the number of team fouls assessed. So in a sense it does seem true as worded. If you missed it, I don't feel so bad now.

Thanks again

CK
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1