The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Two violations (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49482-two-violations.html)

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 23, 2008 06:11am

Two violations
 
B1 disconcerts the free thrower. After the disconcertion, the free thrower continues the motion and releases the free throw, then steps into the lane early.

What happens next?

BillyMac Thu Oct 23, 2008 06:28am

One More Time ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 545017)
B1 disconcerts the free thrower. After the disconcert, the free thrower continues the motion and releases the free throw, then steps into the lane early. What happens next?

If you believe that the disconcertion ion caused the violation, blow the whistle, and do it again. If you don't believe that the disconcertion caused the violation, no basket if successful, go to the arrow.

Raymond Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 545019)
If you believe that the disconcertion ion caused the violation, blow the whistle, and do it again. If you don't believe that the disconcertion caused the violation, no basket if successful, go to the arrow.


Would I still blow the whistle in the 2nd scenario? ;)

JugglingReferee Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 545022)
Would I still blow the whistle in the 2nd scenario? ;)

Only if your area does. :p

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:11am

Read the penalties section after 9-1 carefully. . .

M&M Guy Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 545064)
Read the penalties section after 9-1 carefully. . .

Scrappy, I'm not sure I follow the question? Penalty 4 c. seems to cover it: B1 disconcerted, A1 violated, so A1 gets a substitute FT. Is your question about what if A1 actually made the first FT? Would you wipe it off and make them shoot it again?

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 23, 2008 01:04pm

NFHS 9-1 Penalties: 4. If there is a violation first by the free-thrower's opponent followed by the free thrower or a teammate:
c. If a violation by the free thrower follows disconcertion by an opponent, a substitute free throw shall be awarded.

It sounds like you have a simultaneous violation because the shooter entered the lane early. Entering the lane early is not a situation you can reasonably "blame" on disconcertion. So blow that shot dead, regardless of whether it is made or missed, and award a replacement throw.

9.1.3.G seems to back this up.

truerookie Thu Oct 23, 2008 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 545017)
B1 disconcerts the free thrower. After the disconcertion, the free thrower continues the motion and releases the free throw, then steps into the lane early.

What happens next?

Ok, So the free thower gets another FT. Kinda like an offside penalty in FB?

tjones1 Thu Oct 23, 2008 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 545154)
Jump ball

I thought those only happened at the beginning of the game and overtime(s). ;)

bob jenkins Thu Oct 23, 2008 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 545145)
Entering the lane early is not a situation you can reasonably "blame" on disconcertion. .

The OP specifically said, "B1 disconcerts the free thrower." So, penalty C applies, and the free-thrower gets another chance.

truerookie Thu Oct 23, 2008 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 545165)
I thought those only happened at the beginning of the game and overtime(s). ;)


Correct about that one, I stand corrected go to the table.:p

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 23, 2008 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 545166)
The OP specifically said, "B1 disconcerts the free thrower." So, penalty C applies, and the free-thrower gets another chance.

Yes. But does the entering the lane early cause the ball to become dead immediately? Or is it a delayed dead ball? I believe it's a dead ball immediately when the shooter violates.

My statement was meant to convey that I don't believe this to be a situation where you ignore the second violation just because the first one happened.

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 23, 2008 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 545171)
Correct about that one, I stand corrected go to the table.:p

Go to the table? As in use the arrow? :confused:

Nevadaref Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:23pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle http://forum.officiating.com/images/...s/viewpost.gif
Entering the lane early is not a situation you can reasonably "blame" on disconcertion. .
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 545166)
The OP specifically said, "B1 disconcerts the free thrower." So, penalty C applies, and the free-thrower gets another chance.

"Always listen to Bob." ;)

truerookie Thu Oct 23, 2008 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 545206)
Go to the table? As in use the arrow? :confused:

Yeah, BITS that was my initial response and TJ was pointing out to me about the Jump Ball happening once or twice depending on if we go into overtime. In the situation, the FT'er is entitled to another FT due to the disconcertion


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1