The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2002, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Re: Re: An explanation for Cornellref

Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Quote:
Originally posted by Barry C. Morris
Cornellref,
Situation # 7 - In the final situation, the time for B1 to request a timeout had passed because the ball was at the disposal of team A. The requested timeout should have just been ignored. There is no such thing as a technical for requesting a timeout when it's not the proper time.
With A just getting the ball and not yet being in position to inbound, most experienced refs will grant this TO. While you may be technically right, most refs will allow latitude on the TO up until A is OOB and facing the court. A with ball and stepping OOB, B's TO request is usually granted (and I think it should be).
In Marks original play, B had the ball and was OOB. Whether he is facing the floor or not is inmaterial. A TO should noy be granted at this point, even under the most liberal of terms.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1