The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri May 10, 2002, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member

I have just started basketball officiating this year. I began by calling league play this spring and I am still learning on how to apply the rules. Here is the question:

A1 has the ball and B1 is guarding. B1 gets picked and B2 collides with A1 as A1 comes off the pick. I allowed play to continue, but my partner took my head of at the break for missing the call. He said that I should have called the foul on B2. I didn't make the call because B2 didn't see A1 coming off the pick and it looked like incidental contact.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated in helping a gourd green official get better.
Strange women, lying in ponds, distributing swords is no basis for a system of government. If I went around claiming I was an emperor just because some moistened bink lobbed a scimitar at me, they would put me away.
-Monty Python-
Old Fri May 10, 2002, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member

The way I read this A1 is dribbling, and a screen is set legally. A1 uses the screen to brush off B1 and then B2 collides into the dribbler. If this is what I am reading then A1 may have been fouled. If it was a sight bump it may be incidental but if it affected the dribble, knocked the ball away, dropped him to the floor you missed the foul.
Old Fri May 10, 2002, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member

The screen was set legally. It was more than a bump, but B2 ended up on the floor and A1 took the shot. Does that change the call.
Strange women, lying in ponds, distributing swords is no basis for a system of government. If I went around claiming I was an emperor just because some moistened bink lobbed a scimitar at me, they would put me away.
-Monty Python-
Old Fri May 10, 2002, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member

And even if you DID miss it,
why would a ref be "taking the
head off" of a first year partner?