The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 11, 2002, 12:57am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Lightbulb

Guys - I always thought of it this way: if you blow your whistle for breaking the plane when the defender continues his arm motion and either hits the ball or fouls the inbounder, you could never have the call for hitting the ball (on the first violation) or committing an intentional personal foul for fouling the inbounder.

Seems simple enough to me.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 11, 2002, 08:35am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,142
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Guys - I always thought of it this way: if you blow your whistle for breaking the plane when the defender continues his arm motion and either hits the ball or fouls the inbounder, you could never have the call for hitting the ball (on the first violation) or committing an intentional personal foul for fouling the inbounder.

Seems simple enough to me.

I agree with you Mark P., but NFHS R9-S2, Penalties 3 and 4 require the technical foul (Penalty 3) or and intentional personal foul (Penalty 4). I have been advocating that Penalties 3 and 4 are to be used only if R4-S46-A1 has not yet involked. Once R4-S46-A1 has been involked, then R9-S2, Penalty 2, takes precedence. But no one seems to be reading the penalty.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 11, 2002, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
if you blow your whistle for breaking the plane when the defender continues his arm motion and either hits the ball or fouls the inbounder, you could never have the call for hitting the ball (on the first violation) or committing an intentional personal foul for fouling the inbounder.
I just disagree, Mark. If the defender reaches through the OOB plane and fouls the inbounder, then you have to call the intentional, by rule. Even if you have a really quick whistle and blow it before he contacts the inbounder. If you disagree, then check out case 9.2.11 again, which I mentioned earler. It seems pretty cut and dried. Defender breaks the plane, hits the ball. Official shall call a technical foul and issue a warning for delay. Why all the consternation about this? If you touch the inbounder, it's an intentional. If you touch the ball, it's a technical. Don't make it harder than it has to be.

As usual, it's just my two cents, but it really seems like a whole lot of debate for no reason to me.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 14, 2002, 09:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I have written a letter to Mary Struckhoff, NFHS Basketball Rules Committee Editor. If any of you would like a copy of the letter, just email me and I will be happy to email you a copy of the letter. Once I get an answer from Mary I will be happy to post.
Just wondering if you got an answer yet,Mark??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1