The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2000, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Art N on 02-18-2000 09:20 PM
Todd, can his momentum let him roll once or twice? Had a kid dive, get ball, and roll once or twice from the dive. He wasn't doing it to avoid anyone... Whatcha think?


Generally , I'd say that would be a travel, but the rules are a little vague on that point. The casebook (4.42.5B) implies that a player can roll if he is still sliding, but once he stops THEN he can't roll over. I guess you have to decide if it was an unavoidable result of the dive and whether he gained an advantage from the rolling. If he does roll, I doubt you'll get any argument from calling the violation--most people seem to know he can't do that. It's the sliding part that some people still don't seem to get. Rolling once seems plausible, but TWICE seems more than his momentum would likely cause. Still your judgment on that, though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1