The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 26, 2002, 08:46am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Marty Rogers
I never heard of the "sideline violation."
I would not have done anything different than
usual until the 5 second count was up, then B
would lose possession if they didn't inbound it
in time.

There is no "position established" after a
made basket (no "spot"). I think the officials
"blew it" in this case.
I think that officials got it right.R7-7-7 says that the throw-in shall be made from anywhere outside the END line.R1-2-1 and the court diagram define the end line.Note that the end line stops at it's intersection with the sideline.Also,see the last sentence of R7-6-1---"the throw-in pass shall not touch a teamate while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane".That's the sideline violation that you have never heard of.I think that backs the call up.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1