The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2008, 02:13pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
So A1 is in the front court, throws a pass, it's tipped by B1, and A2 catches the pass in the air while standing in the back court. This is now a backcourt violation?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Aug 05, 2008 at 02:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2008, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
So A1 is in the front court, throws a pass, it's tipped by B1, and A2 catches the pass in the air whiling standing in the back court. This is now a backcourt violation?
While it doesn't meet the requirements of either 9-9-1 or 9-9-2, it is a violation according the logic set forth in last year's interp (sit 10).

Rather absurd, huh?

Where have you been for a whole year?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2008, 02:30pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
While it doesn't meet the requirements of either 9-9-1 or 9-9-2, it is a violation according the logic set forth in last year's interp (sit 10).

Rather absurd, huh?

Where have you been for a whole year?
Good thing. I would have had a heck of a time explaining that ruling to a coach.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2008, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Good thing. I would have had a heck of a time explaining that ruling to a coach.
Might I suggest that you let MTD explain it to the coach for you?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2008, 03:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Might I suggest that you let MTD explain it to the coach for you?
Talk about prolonging a game....
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2008, 03:29pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Well, here's unrelated play but it caused a lot of debate in camp among the observers, including the conference supervisor:

Made basket, A1 retrieves ball OOB and throws the ball OOB along the end line to A2. But...A2 is standing with one foot inbound and one foot OOB. What is A2's status?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2008, 03:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
What is A2's status?
He's now playing defense as B is throwing the ball in.

Once A1 stepped out of bounds, he has to either throw it in or throw it to a teammate out of bounds. A2 is neither in bounds nor out of bounds, so it's a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2008, 03:34pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Well, here's unrelated play but it caused a lot of debate in camp among the observers, including the conference supervisor:

Made basket, A1 retrieves ball OOB and throws the ball OOB along the end line to A2. But...A2 is standing with one foot inbound and one foot OOB. What is A2's status?
His status is he has committed a violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2008, 03:39pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Well, here's unrelated play but it caused a lot of debate in camp among the observers, including the conference supervisor:

Made basket, A1 retrieves ball OOB and throws the ball OOB along the end line to A2. But...A2 is standing with one foot inbound and one foot OOB. What is A2's status?
I'd like to believe the player is OOB but a violation must be called as he is simultaneously standing IB before passing the ball directly onto the court.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NevadaRef: NFHS 2007-08 Rules Interpretation - Situation 10. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 2 Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:42am
2007-08 Case Book 10.6.1 Situation A: NoFear Basketball 10 Thu Jun 26, 2008 07:00pm
2007 NFHS Rules Changes - "Step and Reach" Dakota Softball 8 Mon Jul 10, 2006 02:46pm
Situation - NFHS Rules whiskers_ump Softball 5 Tue Apr 12, 2005 07:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1