The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 162
I think this should answer the question:

Section 12. Timeouts Not Granted
Art. 1. No timeouts shall be granted:
a. To the opponents of the throw-in team after the throw-in starts.
b. During an interrupted dribble.
c. To a player or coach when an airborne player’s momentum is
carrying him/her out of bounds or into the backcourt.


I am pretty sure in NCAA M/W they have to have both feet on the ground and established in bounds to call a to. In HighSchool all your looking for is control of the basketball. Also I think in the NBA they take that a step forward and say that it doenst matter how many fee you haev in bounds that if a players momentum is going out of bounds then it can not be granted. If this is not the correct ruling someone let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Thanks for the info. I didn't know the NCAA rulebook was available online until about a minute ago. I looked it up found that info. I appreciate your replies. I looked up the definition of control and it doesn't seem to specify/define control as it relates to one or both feet on the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial
I think this should answer the question:

Section 12. Timeouts Not Granted
Art. 1. No timeouts shall be granted:
a. To the opponents of the throw-in team after the throw-in starts.
b. During an interrupted dribble.
c. To a player or coach when an airborne player’s momentum is
carrying him/her out of bounds or into the backcourt.


I am pretty sure in NCAA M/W they have to have both feet on the ground and established in bounds to call a to.
You quoted the rule above, so where does it say both feet have to be on the ground, inbounds?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 02:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
How do you go from this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial
I think this should answer the question:

Section 12. Timeouts Not Granted
Art. 1. No timeouts shall be granted:

c. To a player or coach when an airborne player’s momentum is
carrying him/her out of bounds or into the backcourt.
to this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial
I am pretty sure in NCAA M/W they have to have both feet on the ground and established in bounds to call a to.
The rule deals specifically with an airborne player. If a foot is down, she is not airborne.
Furthermore, even if she is airborne, a TO should still be granted if the momentum is not carrying her OOB.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: NCAA-M Excess Timeout tjones1 Basketball 7 Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:34am
Calling timeout while air born (NCAA) gostars Basketball 7 Sat May 06, 2006 05:09pm
Timeout Question for NCAA Officials ATXCoach Basketball 8 Wed Feb 08, 2006 07:26am
timeout replacement?? ncaa jritchie Basketball 2 Fri Oct 21, 2005 03:59pm
Timeout for substitution (NCAA) Jay R Basketball 5 Mon Feb 14, 2005 09:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1