| 
 
			
			Confirmation on the "Hand is part of the ball"-- this is only the *part* of the hand that is actually in contact with (ie, FLAT on) the ball, yes?
 If I recall, the rule just states that the hand "in contact" with the ball should be considered part of the ball-- not the "part of the hand in contact".  So a literal interpretation would mean that if someone's finishing a layup with a finger roll, I could swat his hand and miss the ball completely, as long as the ball is still touching his fingertips, and as long as I just touched hand, not wrist.  Obviously (I hope), that ain't so.
 
 Also, I'd heard rumors about a rule change regarding this rule.  T/F?
 
 Thanks!
 |