The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2002, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 54
The NCAA rulebook states in Rule 4.64.5 under A.R. 36:

A.R. 36. Is it traveling when a player (a) falls to the playing court while holding the
ball; or (b) gains control of the ball while on the playing court and then, because of
momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before get-ting
to his or her feet? RULING: In (a), yes, because it is virtually impossible not to
move the pivot foot when falling to the playing floor. In (b), no. The player may pass,
shoot, start a dribble or call a timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer
sliding, he or she may not roll over. When flat on his or her back, the player may sit
up without violating. When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the
first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet while
holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. When a player falls to one knee while
holding the ball, it is traveling when the pivot foot moves.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1