The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 09, 2002, 05:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 136
Okay, I'm going to take a stab at this one. First, a free throw begins when the ball is bounced to the free thrower. Second, the free throw ends when a)the throw is successful, b)the throw is obviously unsuccessful, or c) the ball becomes dead by rule. In this case, since the ball was not in the air yet, the ball became dead by rule when the official blew the inadvertent whistle for the lane violation. Since the free throw began legally and ended legally without being "successful", then I would think that the next free throw attempted when play resumes is the substitute throw. Therefore, the player actually only "shoots" 2 free throws(the substitute and the 2nd originally awarded throw) even though 3 free throws are actually started. I would think the same logic would apply if team A called (excuse me, I mean requested) a timeout after a violation by B but before the FT was in the air. This subject came up at a beginners camp I attended a couple of years ago but the evaluators never really reached a clear concensus. Basically they were having the same disagreements we are having here.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1