![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
JR: I am not a nameless poster on the NFHS Discussion Forum, I use the same name there as here. Here is the exchange of emails (I have blocked out Peter's email address, but you can contact him through the Maine Prinicipals' Association at http://www.MPA.cc): P. Webb: Moving to maintian a legal guarding position question. From: Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. ([email protected]) Sent: Sat 6/14/08 11:44 PM To: Webb, Peter A. ([email protected]) Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball Official Boys'/Girls' High School Since 1971 Women's College Since 1974 OhioHSAA no.: 104563 MichiganHSAA no.: 322997 USA Basketball Referee (FIBA) no.: 5204 Ohio Association of Basketball Officials Int'l. Assn. of Approved Bkb. Off., Inc./Lake Erie Dist. Bd. #55 Trumbull Co. Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. Bkb. Off. Assn.: Rules Interpreter & Instructional Chairman (1990-99) Jun. 14/Sat.(11:44pmEDT), 2008 to: Peter A. Webb Basketball Commissioner Maine Principals’ Association subject: BKB: Moving to maintian a legal guarding position question. Peter: A discussion on the NFHS Basketball Discussion Group regarding moving to maintain a legal guarding position. I have written four plays and have given my ruling for each play using the definition of a legal guarding position in NFHS R4-S23. I appreciate it if you would read them and tell me what you think. The key is Play D; I wrote the plays in a particular order so as to build a case for my ruling in Play D. Play A: A1 dribbles toward B1 while B1 is standing in front of A1. A1, makes contact with the front of B1's torso. RULING: Foul by A1. Play B: A1 stops his dribble and jumps directly toward B1 while B1 is standing in front of A1. A1, while airborne, makes contact with the front of B1's torso. RULING: Foul by A1. Play C: A1 dribbles toward B1 but changes direction so as to go around B1. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1 makes contact with B1's torso. B1 was NOT moving toward A1 when the contact occurred. RULING: Foul by A1. Play D: A1 stops his dribble and jumps toward B1 but at an angle that will enable him to go past B1 if B1 either does not move or moves directly backward along A1's path before A1 went airborne. BUT, B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1 makes contact with B1's torso. B1 was NOT moving toward A1 when the contact occurred. RULING: Based upon the definition of guarding and Plays A, B, and C, the only logical conclusion is a foul by A1. Mark Re: P. Webb: Moving to maintian a legal guarding position question. From: [email protected] Sent: Tue 6/17/08 11:33 AM To: [email protected] Hi Mark, The play situations and rulings that you have put are a good way of teaching/understanding 'guarding-block/charge' as per rules 4.7; 4.23 Rulings are accurate as per rule. Peter As one can see, I copied Plays A, B, C, and D verbatim in my email to Peter. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Non-airborne shooter? | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 7 | Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:40pm |
| no airborne shooter | Junker | Basketball | 24 | Sun Jan 14, 2007 06:34pm |
| Airborne Passer vs Airborne Shooter | SDREGIIBB | Basketball | 8 | Mon Apr 11, 2005 04:33pm |
| Airborne shooter | RookieDude | Basketball | 18 | Sun Dec 28, 2003 12:31am |
| Airborne Shooter | JoeT | Basketball | 1 | Mon Apr 03, 2000 09:56am |