Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
though by rule it is not goaltending or BI but is a good rule of thumb to score this basket. the percentages are in your favor if you call this.
|
WHOOOOAAAAA NELLLLLLIEEEEE!!!
How can you can call a violation on B1 when no violation has occured? I do not want to hear about "rule of thumb." I want a logical (rules and casebook references) defense of why an official would, could, and should call a violation on a player when no violation (or foul) had occurred.
|
The sad part,Mark,is that the percentages ARE in your favor of not getting any flak if you call GT in this case.Coaches,players,fans--they don't understand the nuances of the GT and BI rules.Call it GT and nobody is really going to moan about it.Once they see the ball hit the board and then somebody touches it,they want 2 awarded,no matter what.If you correctly don't call it,the roof IS going to come down on your head.That said,I certainly agree with you that a good official should make the proper call in this case,no matter what the consequences.If he/she doesn't,then they've put themselves into the position where they could have possibly unfairly affected the outcome of the game.
Crew,the right call and the popular call are two completely different animals.