Quote:
Originally posted by Ridge Wiz
Jurassic Ref, sorry it took so long to reply. I've been really busy.
NFHS case book, page 27, INTENTIONAL FOUL, 4.19.3 SITUATION B: A1 drives to the basket with B1 in pursuit. As A1 begins the act of shooting, B1 gets a hand on the ball from behind & the subsequent contact takes A1 forcefully to the floor & out of bounds. RULING: An intentional foul shall be charged when the contact is judged to be excessive, even though the opponent is playing the ball. (4-11)
I only mentioned this case as a possible course of action not the only one. Of course excessive force is necessary in this case. This happens to be one of those sitch's that stick out to me the same reason you questioned my response.
|
Ridge Wiz,the key words in the the casebook play you cited above are "subsequent contact".This play refers to a defender putting a hand on the ball,and THEN making further contact somewhere else on the shooter besides the ball to cause the foul.In other words,the foul isn't for putting a hand on the ball.It's for the OTHER contact on the shooter AFTER the hand was on the ball.I think you may have misread this play to think that the foul was called solely for the contact on the ball.Contact on the ball only is not a foul.