![]() |
|
|
|||
Re: Found this in the NCAA rulebook
Quote:
Okay, my original post was based upon a logical interpretaion without looking at the associated Casebook Plays and Approved Rulings. After reading your post I decided to look at the NFHS Casebook as well as look at NCAA Men's/Womens's R4-S65-A4, A.R. 40. NFHS Casebaook Play R4.15.4C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; or (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard, catches the rebound and dribbles again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is the first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal as a player's own backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, but does not constitute a part of a dribble. (R9-S5) Casebook Play (c) is identical to A.R. 40. I stand corrected regarding my prior posting but I just do not feel comfortable in the NFHS and NCAA rulings.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|