The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 18, 2002, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Unhappy Good grief!

This is not traveling, guys.

4-4-5
A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower's backboard it does not constitute a part of a dribble.

Had he dribbled, thrown the ball to the floor and then caught it, it's a double dribble, as it would constitue the start of a new dribble. Had the ball not hit the backboard, then it's traveling, as it would be a self pass. But if the ball hits the backboard, we've got nothing. It's perfectly legal to throw the ball off your own backboard, run, and catch it. You can even throw the ball off your opponent's backboard, run and catch it, as long as you haven't previously dribbled. (4.4.5)

And don't respond that it isn't unless you have a rule or case play to back your self up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1