The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2000, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9
Post

Team A has been fouled with 8 seconds left and a 2 point lead. Just for fun, how'd it turn out? Was there justice?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2000, 01:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Post

I had some good advice passed to me a couple years ago. If we are under 15sec. of period, I count down to myself. I've never had to used this for a timing error yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2000, 05:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 4
Post

Had the following happen in a Varisty Game last Friday night.

Team A leads by 5 with 16 seconds left and has not won a game all year. Team B (Home) is inbounding from the frontcourt baseline after a time-out. Ball comes inbounds, is passed to point, then passed to opposite corner where B1 takes 1 dribble, then shoots a three that hits nothing but net. A1 retrieves runs 2-3 steps on the baseline and inbounds to A2 who passes crosscourt to A3 who is immediately fouled. I look up after calling the foul and there is 10 seconds on the clock. The timer says he "forgot" to start the clock when B inbounded, but didn't stop it immediately when I blew the whislte to call the foul, A coach is livid, B coach thinks it's OK because time ran off the other end. I have no definite way of knowing how much time ran off but feel Team A has been screwed by a home court timer. I decide to take time off & reset to 8 seconds (clock does not have tenths).

I know this is not the way the book says to do it but feel it was the fair thing to do and would appreciate feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2000, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 55
Post

I can understand how you feel, although unless you or your partner actually looked at the clock and had definite knowledge, I don't beleive you can take time off the clock. Even though the timer knew he messed up, odds are he doesn't know for sure how much time passed either.
I'd have to say leave the clock the way it was.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2000, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Unhappy

You could ask the timer if he has definite knowledge as to how long he waited before starting the clock, but he probably doesn't know any more than you know. Unfortunate as it is, you shouldn't take any time off. I'd also make sure the timer understands that forgetting to START the clock does not permit a purposely "slow" STOPPING of the clock on the next whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2000, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 32
Post

Not for nothin' but there isn't a person in the gym that can ever say you didn't have definite knowledge of how much time there should have been on the clock!! If you felt there should have been "x" seconds left then that is what you put on the clock.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2000, 06:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 336
Post

Shouldn't let the records of the teams affect your judgement on this one.

If you agreed that the clock started late, I would have kept it at 8. From what you described. AT LEAST 8 seconds should have elapsed.

I would also not let a home team benefit from their scorer's mistake. I've told visiting coaches "I will not let you get screwed by a home team table's mistakes" and give them the benefit of a few more seconds.

I've told home team coaches "you have a legitimate beef, but it's with YOUR scorer, not me". More than likely, the scorer will get an earful from the coach, and not make that mistake again.

Tough situation, but sounds like you handled it properly!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2000, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 4
Post

The home team fouled on the ensuing inbound; foul number 7; shooter missed the front end of the one & one; home team rebounded & missed shot at horn.

Also, thank you for the comment about not worrying about records, I think I would have made the same decision regardless--but I did have some extra sympathy for the team that won, knowing they hadn't all year.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1