The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 12:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
legal play? or Not?

A1 is dribbling then picks up dribble and throws a pass from top of the key to A2, who is in the paint and is not looking ... the ball is a little high - strikes the backboard (only) and bounces straight back and is caught by A1 who proceeds to dribble in and shoot a layup.

violation or not?

Last edited by Johnny Ringo; Tue Mar 25, 2008 at 01:04am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 12:45am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
no violation
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 01:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
OK ... can you say why this is legal?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 02:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
OK ... can you say why this is legal?
Because the book says so!

Seriously, the reason why is not real clear but the presumption is that if the ball hits the board, it is, for the purposes of whether a player gets another dribble, considered a shot.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 06:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Because the book says so!

Seriously, the reason why is not real clear but the presumption is that if the ball hits the board, it is, for the purposes of whether a player gets another dribble, considered a shot.
And the presumption that the ball is in A's frontcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Can A1 end a dribble - throw it off th backboard, be the first to touch again and start a new dribble?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2008, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 10
Talking legal play? or Not?

A1 is dribbling then picks up dribble and throws a pass from top of the key to A2, who is in the paint and is not looking ... the ball is a little high - strikes the backboard (only) and bounces straight back and is caught by A1 who proceeds to dribble in and shoot a layup.

violation or not?

-In FIBA Rules, this is a travelling violation under article 25.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2008, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 56
were talking NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2008, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Yes, we are talking NFHS ... and still don't know the answer.

There was no intent at shoting the ball - clearly a pass. A1 had dribbled prior to the pass and when caught the ball after is struck the backboard - dribble again ...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2008, 02:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
I will take a shot (pun intended) to clear this up. Like all have already stated to keep things simple treat it as a shot attempt when the ball strikes the backboard. If by any chance you own a rule or casebook look at casebook play 4.15.4 sit C. That should clear it up for you.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal Play golfman Basketball 6 Sat Feb 16, 2008 05:44pm
Legal play Lancerdad Softball 7 Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:39am
OOB Play- Legal or Not??? BOBBYMO Basketball 15 Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:10pm
Was this a legal play refnrev Volleyball 6 Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:54am
legal play? yankeesfan Basketball 6 Wed Dec 10, 2003 02:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1