The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   legal play? or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/43017-legal-play-not.html)

JS 20 Tue Mar 25, 2008 08:01pm

If it's a valid shot attempt, no violation. But if you were able to discern that it wasn't a shot attempt, you have a double dribble. I think this is actually an NCAA rule and I thought it was NFHS. Is this covered in the case book anywhere?

Camron Rust Tue Mar 25, 2008 08:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
At one time, I believe that the NFHS had us trying to distinguish between a legal try, and an alleyoop pass, both from behind the three point arc, where the alleyoop pass happend to go in. Three points for the legal try. Two point for the alleyoop. Now the NFHS allows us to credit three points in both cases. I'm not 100% sure about this. I'm positive I'll find out soon if I'm wrong.

In reality, they didn't eliminate the ambiguity, they just relocated it to a less common point.

These cases (a ball that hits the backboard and a thrown ball that goes in) are not defined to actually be tries but are treated as if they were in some specific respects.

The ball that hits the backboard is a try for the purposes of being able to dribble again....nothing else. Nothing declares it a try and nothing says that anything else about a try applies except for the player being able to catch the ball and dribble again.

The thrown ball that goes in is, likewise, not defined as a try but is merely counted as 3 points. So, again, any other element that is associated with the action being defined as a try is unchanged....we still have to decide. As rare as the thrown ball going it is, the complicating situations are that much more uncommon. So, we have to make a judgement far more infrequently. For example, a foul while the ball is in flight makes the ball dead unless the it is a try.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 26, 2008 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JS 20
If it's a valid shot attempt, no violation. But if you were able to discern that it wasn't a shot attempt, you have a double dribble. I think this is actually an NCAA rule and I thought it was NFHS. Is this covered in the case book anywhere?

No, it's not a double dribble. 2-Ball Location says something like "A ball which hits the front face of the back board is the same as the ball hitting the floor, excpet that it's NOT the start of a dribble when it hits a team's own backboard."

So, clearly it's not a dribble.

It *could* be a travel if the player needs to go get it, but there's a general rule that you can't travel when you're not holding the ball (with the one exception of getting the ball on the floor, putting the ball down, standing up, and then picking up the ball).

Left open is whether the player can dribble again (assuming they had dribbled before throwing the ball off the backboard). After all, the player hasn't lost control based on a try, an opponent touching the ball, etc. The general interp, though, I think, would be to allow it.

If the play were more common (I don't think I've ever seen a player recover the ball off his own backboard when it wasn't a try and when no one else touched it), I'm sure there'd be a clarification in the 2-Player Control (or elsewhere).

bogref_jed Wed Mar 26, 2008 08:56am

legal play? or Not?
 
A1 is dribbling then picks up dribble and throws a pass from top of the key to A2, who is in the paint and is not looking ... the ball is a little high - strikes the backboard (only) and bounces straight back and is caught by A1 who proceeds to dribble in and shoot a layup.

violation or not?

-In FIBA Rules, this is a travelling violation under article 25.

Nagy0716 Wed Mar 26, 2008 09:05am

were talking NFHS

Johnny Ringo Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:23pm

Yes, we are talking NFHS ... and still don't know the answer.

There was no intent at shoting the ball - clearly a pass. A1 had dribbled prior to the pass and when caught the ball after is struck the backboard - dribble again ...

truerookie Thu Mar 27, 2008 02:46am

I will take a shot :D (pun intended) to clear this up. Like all have already stated to keep things simple treat it as a shot attempt when the ball strikes the backboard. If by any chance you own a rule or casebook look at casebook play 4.15.4 sit C. That should clear it up for you.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1