The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   legal play? or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/43017-legal-play-not.html)

Johnny Ringo Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:35am

legal play? or Not?
 
A1 is dribbling then picks up dribble and throws a pass from top of the key to A2, who is in the paint and is not looking ... the ball is a little high - strikes the backboard (only) and bounces straight back and is caught by A1 who proceeds to dribble in and shoot a layup.

violation or not?

just another ref Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:45am

no violation

Johnny Ringo Tue Mar 25, 2008 01:03am

OK ... can you say why this is legal?

Camron Rust Tue Mar 25, 2008 02:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
OK ... can you say why this is legal?

Because the book says so! :)

Seriously, the reason why is not real clear but the presumption is that if the ball hits the board, it is, for the purposes of whether a player gets another dribble, considered a shot.

CoachP Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Because the book says so! :)

Seriously, the reason why is not real clear but the presumption is that if the ball hits the board, it is, for the purposes of whether a player gets another dribble, considered a shot.

And the presumption that the ball is in A's frontcourt.

Johnny Ringo Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:15pm

Can A1 end a dribble - throw it off th backboard, be the first to touch again and start a new dribble?

Nagy0716 Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:22pm

yes, any attempted shot, he can dribble it

jdw3018 Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Can A1 end a dribble - throw it off th backboard, be the first to touch again and start a new dribble?

Yes, for exactly the same reason Camron mentioned.

Nagy0716 Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:29pm

im new to this site and wondering how u make a thread? thanks

Johnny Ringo Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:36pm

But, what if it's not an attempted shot.

So, I guess what you are saying is that any time you strike the backboard with the ball it is a shot?

jdw3018 Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
But, what if it's not an attempted shot.

So, I guess what you are saying is that any time you strike the backboard with the ball it is a shot?

That is the interpretation. Any time the ball strikes a player's backboard, it is to be treated as a shot attempt.

Nagy0716 Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:40pm

i mean that is one of the times u use your "discrestion"...

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
So, I guess what you are saying is that any time you strike the backboard with the ball it is a shot?

How can you possibly be 100% sure it <b>isn't</b> a shot?

Unless you're a mind reader, there's always at least some doubt as to whether it's a shot or not. And if there's <b>any</b> doubt, we shouldn't be making a call.

Johnny Ringo Tue Mar 25, 2008 06:57pm

Let's see ... a one-handed baseball motion like throw that is followed by yelling a teammate's name who is not looking and the ball strikes the bottom left corner of the board.

Pretty confident that was not a try.

BillyMac Tue Mar 25, 2008 07:12pm

Not Sure ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Let's see ... a one-handed baseball motion like throw that is followed by yelling a teammate's name who is not looking and the ball strikes the bottom left corner of the board. Pretty confident that was not a try.

At one time, I believe that the NFHS had us trying to distinguish between a legal try, and an alleyoop pass, both from behind the three point arc, where the alleyoop pass happend to go in. Three points for the legal try. Two point for the alleyoop. Now the NFHS allows us to credit three points in both cases. I'm not 100% sure about this. I'm positive I'll find out soon if I'm wrong.

JS 20 Tue Mar 25, 2008 08:01pm

If it's a valid shot attempt, no violation. But if you were able to discern that it wasn't a shot attempt, you have a double dribble. I think this is actually an NCAA rule and I thought it was NFHS. Is this covered in the case book anywhere?

Camron Rust Tue Mar 25, 2008 08:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
At one time, I believe that the NFHS had us trying to distinguish between a legal try, and an alleyoop pass, both from behind the three point arc, where the alleyoop pass happend to go in. Three points for the legal try. Two point for the alleyoop. Now the NFHS allows us to credit three points in both cases. I'm not 100% sure about this. I'm positive I'll find out soon if I'm wrong.

In reality, they didn't eliminate the ambiguity, they just relocated it to a less common point.

These cases (a ball that hits the backboard and a thrown ball that goes in) are not defined to actually be tries but are treated as if they were in some specific respects.

The ball that hits the backboard is a try for the purposes of being able to dribble again....nothing else. Nothing declares it a try and nothing says that anything else about a try applies except for the player being able to catch the ball and dribble again.

The thrown ball that goes in is, likewise, not defined as a try but is merely counted as 3 points. So, again, any other element that is associated with the action being defined as a try is unchanged....we still have to decide. As rare as the thrown ball going it is, the complicating situations are that much more uncommon. So, we have to make a judgement far more infrequently. For example, a foul while the ball is in flight makes the ball dead unless the it is a try.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 26, 2008 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JS 20
If it's a valid shot attempt, no violation. But if you were able to discern that it wasn't a shot attempt, you have a double dribble. I think this is actually an NCAA rule and I thought it was NFHS. Is this covered in the case book anywhere?

No, it's not a double dribble. 2-Ball Location says something like "A ball which hits the front face of the back board is the same as the ball hitting the floor, excpet that it's NOT the start of a dribble when it hits a team's own backboard."

So, clearly it's not a dribble.

It *could* be a travel if the player needs to go get it, but there's a general rule that you can't travel when you're not holding the ball (with the one exception of getting the ball on the floor, putting the ball down, standing up, and then picking up the ball).

Left open is whether the player can dribble again (assuming they had dribbled before throwing the ball off the backboard). After all, the player hasn't lost control based on a try, an opponent touching the ball, etc. The general interp, though, I think, would be to allow it.

If the play were more common (I don't think I've ever seen a player recover the ball off his own backboard when it wasn't a try and when no one else touched it), I'm sure there'd be a clarification in the 2-Player Control (or elsewhere).

bogref_jed Wed Mar 26, 2008 08:56am

legal play? or Not?
 
A1 is dribbling then picks up dribble and throws a pass from top of the key to A2, who is in the paint and is not looking ... the ball is a little high - strikes the backboard (only) and bounces straight back and is caught by A1 who proceeds to dribble in and shoot a layup.

violation or not?

-In FIBA Rules, this is a travelling violation under article 25.

Nagy0716 Wed Mar 26, 2008 09:05am

were talking NFHS

Johnny Ringo Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:23pm

Yes, we are talking NFHS ... and still don't know the answer.

There was no intent at shoting the ball - clearly a pass. A1 had dribbled prior to the pass and when caught the ball after is struck the backboard - dribble again ...

truerookie Thu Mar 27, 2008 02:46am

I will take a shot :D (pun intended) to clear this up. Like all have already stated to keep things simple treat it as a shot attempt when the ball strikes the backboard. If by any chance you own a rule or casebook look at casebook play 4.15.4 sit C. That should clear it up for you.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1