The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 41
M&M are you saying that even though you as an official knows exactly what the coach is asking but did not use the correct terminology you would not give him his due. If this is the case maybe we need to do a better job in our rules interpretation meetings for coaches that unless you use the correct terminology we will ignore you. Point of emphasis for 08-09 to coaches!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 10:53am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldschool
maybe we need to do a better job in our rules interpretation meetings for coaches that unless you use the correct terminology we will ignore you.
I believe the good coaches already know that
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldschool
M&M are you saying that even though you as an official knows exactly what the coach is asking but did not use the correct terminology you would not give him his due.
No, I would not say this.

You gave the example of the official at the camp - I don't know all the details about this interaction, but perhaps all the official heard from you was, "That's over the back!", and the only answer he was able to give you as he was running by was, "There's no such thing as over the back in the rules." He would be correct, and perhaps that was his way of telling you there was no illegal contact on that play. But remember, you didn't ask about illegal contact, you asked about something that is not in the rules, and the associated misconceptions that go along with that phrase.

"Giving the coach his due" is very dependent on the specific situation. If I know a coach has a working knowledge of the rules, and is simply using the phrase, I will give them the proper explanation of the call or no-call. If I've never seen the coach before, it may depend on the level of the game as to how I react to the comment. A grade-school level coach may get the "no such call" answer, because there is a greater chance they do not know the rules, and I will not have time in that particular game to explain the rules to them.

So, do I give the coach his due? It depends.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 41
Thanks M&M that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 11:19am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Over the Back signal

__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 06:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
How about the TV announcers?

They are constantly using these terms. During this week's games I bet if you kept track they would say this over 30 times. Also if you are in the stands you hear it all game long.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 06:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Nfhs ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
I can't find this signal in my NFHS manual. Is it an NCAA signal?

Aren't the stripes on his jersey kind of wide, and isn't the lanyard kind of long?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 25, 2008, 06:43pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

Reaching in is not a foul. There must be contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. If contact does occur, it’s either a holding foul or an illegal use of hands foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.

Over the back is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Idea for a gift nili Football 0 Tue Oct 26, 2004 06:55am
Idea for Article GarthB General / Off-Topic 42 Wed Aug 25, 2004 08:39pm
Idea for a new league ChampaignBlue Softball 1 Sat Jul 31, 2004 07:03pm
Bad Idea... ChristianHog1965 Football 10 Wed Nov 05, 2003 06:21pm
Bean bag idea... Mike Simonds Football 20 Sun Aug 24, 2003 07:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1