The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
The funny thing is if the player for Kentucky waited a split second longer for the ball to be above the cylinder then Gillispie's plan would have worked.

Or probably the best way for this play to work in the future for teams is to go stand under the basket and hold the net. This would be basket interference the instant that the ball hits the ring or enters the cylinder. And you don't have to worry about timing the block above the cylinder. If coaches are planing on doing this they should inform one of the officials of their plan so that they can confirm the penalty. In some games you might not have officials that know this rule.

I'm thinking that the first player might have been purposely entering the lane so that if the free throw is missed or the other player doesn't goal tend it then the UGA player would have to shot again. The same situation that happened a couple of weeks ago.

Maybe this will teach coaches to read the rule book before trying any crazy plays.

Also did anyone notice that in the you tube video someone on the UGA bench starts forming the T sign with his hands before the officials call a technical. One of the announcers even says "That's a technical" before the officials signal a technical foul. I don't know if they were tipped off by something the officials did or if they knew the rule. (Probably the former )
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Basket Interference:

1. Can't touch the ball if it's in the cylinder.
2. Can't touch the basket or ball if it's on or in the basket.
3. Can't touch the ball (even outside the cylinder) after reaching through the basket.
4. If rim is moved, it can't contact the ball before returning to its original position.

What about the situation that happened during the VT/UNC game. Spot throw-in on the sideline. Inbounder throws a lob that is caught & dunked. Looking at the replay, it looks as though the ball is in the cylinder when the player touches it & dunks. Is this legal or is this basket interference? I think it is legal as there is no shot attempt by the inbounder. Thoughts...?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwall1416
What about the situation that happened during the VT/UNC game. Spot throw-in on the sideline. Inbounder throws a lob that is caught & dunked. Looking at the replay, it looks as though the ball is in the cylinder when the player touches it & dunks. Is this legal or is this basket interference? I think it is legal as there is no shot attempt by the inbounder. Thoughts...?
It needn't be a try to be BI. If the "alley-oop" is first touched in the cylinder, it's BI, even on a throw-in. The benefit of the doubt, though, goes to the offense on this play, so it won't be called unless it's obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
It needn't be a try to be BI. If the "alley-oop" is first touched in the cylinder, it's BI, even on a throw-in. The benefit of the doubt, though, goes to the offense on this play, so it won't be called unless it's obvious.
Since the ball isn't live until it is touched...it would become live when the player first touched the ball...right? So, wouldn't that just equate to a dunk?

I would think a live ball vs. dead ball situation would cause this to be different than say a ball that was in play.

Bob, don't get me wrong...I'm not saying I don't agree with you...I'm just looking for a little more clarification in case this happens in one of my games.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwall1416
Since the ball isn't live until it is touched...it would become live when the player first touched the ball...right? So, wouldn't that just equate to a dunk?

I would think a live ball vs. dead ball situation would cause this to be different than say a ball that was in play.

Bob, don't get me wrong...I'm not saying I don't agree with you...I'm just looking for a little more clarification in case this happens in one of my games.
The ball is live when the thrower is handed the ball by the ref. By the time the dunker touches the ball, its been live for at least 1-2 seconds (depending on how long the thrower was holding the ball).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 14
Its the second play in this video. Tough to tell from this video, but Raycom sports showed the overhead angle & it looked like it was in the cylinder.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=PIplP350ayk
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The ball is live when the thrower is handed the ball by the ref.
Is there a difference in this between high school & college rules?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 11:24am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The ball is live when the thrower is handed the ball by the ref.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwall1416
Is there a difference in this between high school & college rules?
No difference. Otherwise you couldn't have a personal foul during a throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 11:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwall1416
Its the second play in this video. Tough to tell from this video, but Raycom sports showed the overhead angle & it looked like it was in the cylinder.
As Bob noted, it's not normally called on the offense unless it's blatantly obvious. If you need an overhead cam to catch it, it's not likely to get called since no official in the world has that angle.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 14
Gotcha. Thanks guys for all of your posts. I'm just trying to move up the officiating ladder, so anything I can learn....I'm all for.

By the way, I'm going to my first D3 camp this summer. ACC, Colonial, Big East, A-10, etc... officials will be there evaluating. Any advice from the veterans?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 11:43am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwall1416
By the way, I'm going to my first D3 camp this summer. ACC, Colonial, Big East, A-10, etc... officials will be there evaluating. Any advice from the veterans?
I'd start another thread for this topic, rather than try to run two topics in the same thread.

('Cuz that never happens. . . )
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwall1416
Gotcha. Thanks guys for all of your posts. I'm just trying to move up the officiating ladder, so anything I can learn....I'm all for.

By the way, I'm going to my first D3 camp this summer. ACC, Colonial, Big East, A-10, etc... officials will be there evaluating. Any advice from the veterans?
Here's some advice: RTFM, especially before you repeat a question that's been answered or "seek additional clarification."
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Here's some advice: RTFM, especially before you repeat a question that's been answered or "seek additional clarification."
nm....every thing clear...my bad.

Thanks Snaqwells & Bob.

Last edited by blwall1416; Mon Mar 17, 2008 at 02:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 02:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I think he may be referring to your question regarding dead ball and live ball. It's a pretty basic rule concept; one of the first things officials should learn. Something that should have been learned long before attempting to get hired by a college assigner.

I'm not Bob, but have been known to channel my inner Dan now and then.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2008, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Mike, that would NOT be goaltending. To understand this, you have to understand the difference between goaltanding and basket interference.

In order to have GT, there must be a try for goal. For BI, it doesn't matter how the ball gets on the rim or in the cylinder. Could be a pass or a deflection. But for GT, it must be a try.

Goaltending:

1. Must be a try.
2. Must be on the way down.
3. Must be completely outside the cylinder.
4. Must be completely above the rim.
5. Must have a chance to go in.

Basket Interference:

1. Can't touch the ball if it's in the cylinder.
2. Can't touch the basket or ball if it's on or in the basket.
3. Can't touch the ball (even outside the cylinder) after reaching through the basket.
4. If rim is moved, it can't contact the ball before returning to its original position.

So in your situation, it would not be GT, because it is not outside the cylinder. It's basket interference, because of #1 -- touching a live ball in the imaginary cylinder.

By rule, GT a free throw in a technical foul; but committing basket interference during a free throw is NOT a technical foul.

Why?

Because it's possible to commit basket interference during a free throw, while making a legitimate basketball play. Just like in the situation you describe. But it's not possible to commit goaltending during a free throw, except by doing it on purpose (and in HS, by committing a lane violation first), which is considered unsportsmanlike.

Hope that helps.
As one who just finished his rookie officiating year, I loved this particular breakdown. Very descriptive and helpful. Would it be accurate to say that goaltending is "deliberate" and basket interferrence is "accidental"?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1