The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIRef
I saw this play as it happened, and then several times on the replay. My view was that the ball stayed in the backcourt while both feet went to the front-court, and before he picked up the dribble to make the pass, he moved a foot back into the backcourt. Thus, there was never front-court status. I believe the refs made the right call.
Is this play online somewhere? I was sitting at a sports bar eating my wings when I saw that highlight from a distance, only once. I immediately thought it was a backcourt violation. Me being a Georgia resident and Tech fan, and a DUKE hater, I may have been quick to judge.

With all that said... both feet in the FC, (before??) he picked up dribble to make pass, moved foot back into the BC. When you say before he picked up the dribble was he dribbling or gathered the ball to pass? When the foot went into the BC did he dribble one more time then gather to pass? I'm confused with the before he picked up the dribble to make a pass statement. If I picture it correctly he was picking up the dribble to make the pass, then moved a foot back into the BC, then the dribble ended and it would be a violation because all three points are in the FC.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
Foot on Division line?

Here is how I say the play

1. Dribbling up court, both feet in front court (or was one foot on the division line?) and ball in back court

2. Picks up dribble. Thus all three are now in front court (unless Pivot foot was on division line)

3. Pivots into backcourt. The pivot foot is on the division line. Other foot clearly goes into back court.

4. Pass made.

So it depends if the pivot was on the division line in #1 above.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:43pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb

2. Picks up dribble. Thus all three are now in front court (unless Pivot foot was on division line)
This is the only thing I see wrong with your description. When he picks up the dribble, three points is no longer a consideration. The only question is whether his pivot foot was touching the division line. I agree that it was not when the dribble ended, but it may have touched when he pivoted. I don't think that there was any doubt that the other foot touched in BC well before he released the pass.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
just another ref:

Correct regarding point #2.

The only way (IMO) that it is a no call is IF the foot was always touching the division line.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:00pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb
just another ref:

Correct regarding point #2.

The only way (IMO) that it is a no call is IF the foot was always touching the division line.

agree
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:36pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
With all that said... both feet in the FC, (before??) he picked up dribble to make pass, moved foot back into the BC. When you say before he picked up the dribble was he dribbling or gathered the ball to pass? When the foot went into the BC did he dribble one more time then gather to pass? I'm confused with the before he picked up the dribble to make a pass statement. If I picture it correctly he was picking up the dribble to make the pass, then moved a foot back into the BC, then the dribble ended and it would be a violation because all three points are in the FC.
What I saw (several times) was both feet crossed into FC. Last dribble was in BC. He picked up the dribble, then pivoted and stepped into BC, then passed.
I saw it as a violation, but it happened very quickly and was an easy one to miss.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1