The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:36pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
With all that said... both feet in the FC, (before??) he picked up dribble to make pass, moved foot back into the BC. When you say before he picked up the dribble was he dribbling or gathered the ball to pass? When the foot went into the BC did he dribble one more time then gather to pass? I'm confused with the before he picked up the dribble to make a pass statement. If I picture it correctly he was picking up the dribble to make the pass, then moved a foot back into the BC, then the dribble ended and it would be a violation because all three points are in the FC.
What I saw (several times) was both feet crossed into FC. Last dribble was in BC. He picked up the dribble, then pivoted and stepped into BC, then passed.
I saw it as a violation, but it happened very quickly and was an easy one to miss.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:43pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb

2. Picks up dribble. Thus all three are now in front court (unless Pivot foot was on division line)
This is the only thing I see wrong with your description. When he picks up the dribble, three points is no longer a consideration. The only question is whether his pivot foot was touching the division line. I agree that it was not when the dribble ended, but it may have touched when he pivoted. I don't think that there was any doubt that the other foot touched in BC well before he released the pass.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
just another ref:

Correct regarding point #2.

The only way (IMO) that it is a no call is IF the foot was always touching the division line.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:00pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb
just another ref:

Correct regarding point #2.

The only way (IMO) that it is a no call is IF the foot was always touching the division line.

agree
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Just now getting back to this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHamp
I'm not sure if your referring to the same play or not but the one they were arguing about was when Paulus was dribbling, both feet went into the fc, but he remained dribbling in the bc. How is this a bc violation??
Both feet were in the FC.

He last dribled the ball in the BC.

He then caught the ball while standing with both feet still in the FC.

He then stepped into the BC.

BC violation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WIRef
I saw this play as it happened, and then several times on the replay. My view was that the ball stayed in the backcourt while both feet went to the front-court, and before he picked up the dribble to make the pass, he moved a foot back into the backcourt. Thus, there was never front-court status. I believe the refs made the right call.
That would be incorrect. When he ended his dribble by catching the ball, both feet were in the FC. The ball is now in the FC. He then stepped into the BC.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Thu Feb 28, 2008 at 10:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
BTW, I only watched the game for about 5 minutes but they missed another call that really surprised me.

Gerald Henderson jumped to save the ball from going OOB. His right foot made contact with the press table. Pretty obvious I thought. He then passed the ball to a teammate. Mike Wood was standing 10' away but missed it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
BTW, I only watched the game for about 5 minutes but they missed another call that really surprised me.

Gerald Henderson jumped to save the ball from going OOB. His right foot made contact with the press table. Pretty obvious I thought. He then passed the ball to a teammate. Mike Wood was standing 10' away but missed it.
I completely agree. I saw that live, at game speed, with a bad camera angle, I'm not sure how the official missed it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1