The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
I have two questions.
1) Exactly when does a goal count. When it is within the cylander or when it comes out of the net?

Situation: A1 driving to the basket and is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. Ball is within the cylander when A2 grasps and hangs on the ring.
IMO I have offensive basket interference that kills the goal. I have a two shot shooting foul with the lane cleared because A1 was fouled in the act by B1. Then I'm giving B two technical free throws for A2 hanging on the rim. Then B gets the ball for division line throw-in.

2) A1 dribbling over half court both feet over the division line and ball has clearly broken the plane of the division line but not touched the floor in the front court. A1 then reverse pivots and goes back into backcourt. I have nothing. What do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to RX Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL
I have two questions.
1) Exactly when does a goal count. When it is within the cylander or when it comes out of the net?

Situation: A1 driving to the basket and is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. Ball is within the cylander when A2 grasps and hangs on the ring.
IMO I have offensive basket interference that kills the goal. I have a two shot shooting foul with the lane cleared because A1 was fouled in the act by B1. Then I'm giving B two technical free throws for A2 hanging on the rim. Then B gets the ball for division line throw-in.

2) A1 dribbling over half court both feet over the division line and ball has clearly broken the plane of the division line but not touched the floor in the front court. A1 then reverse pivots and goes back into backcourt. I have nothing. What do you have?
I have 2 calls that will make at least 1/2 the people unhappy. In 1), I would count the goal, but give the T.
In 2) I also have nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by RX Ref

I have 2 calls that will make at least 1/2 the people unhappy. In 1), I would count the goal, but give the T.
In 2) I also have nothing.
In (1), they're half happy because you're only half right

The goal does not count because of the BI - 9-11-1 - BI occurs when a player touches the ball/basket/net when the ball is on or within the basket.

1-10-1 - A basket is the rim, flange, braces, and net.

For situation (2), just remember that a dribbler is not in FC until all 3 points (ball, L foot, R foot) touch in the FC. Until all three have touched, the player is still in BC, so he can "retreat."
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL
I have two questions.
1) Exactly when does a goal count. When it is within the cylander or when it comes out of the net?
Rule 4, Section 31.
Art. 1. A goal shall be made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through, except on a throw-in.

So the ball has to clear the bottom of the net and or remain inside before you have a goal.


Quote:

2) A1 dribbling over half court both feet over the division line and ball has clearly broken the plane of the division line but not touched the floor in the front court. A1 then reverse pivots and goes back into backcourt. I have nothing. What do you have?
Rule 4, Section 28, Article 3:
c . During a dribble from back court to front court, the ball shall be in the front court when both feet of the dribbler and the ball touch the playing court entirely in the front court.

So I got nothing. Since we have a dribble going, we need all three points (both feet and ball) in the front court before the ball achieves front court status.

(Disclaimer: These are NCAA rules.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Lotto is correct. Must clear the net. This came up years ago when a dunk hit the dunker's head and bounce up and out. Now, having said this we have the Bobby Knight rule when it is the opponent.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Lotto is correct. Must clear the net. This came up years ago when a dunk hit the dunker's head and bounce up and out. Now, having said this we have the Bobby Knight rule when it is the opponent.
Just remember, the definition is remain in or pass through (both NF and NCAA).

Probably intended for two cases - (1) home team switches on its gravity eliminators; (2) the net gets tangled up during a shot, and an offensive rebound is immediately put up for another FGA.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2002, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to RX Ref
half right


In (1), they're half happy because you're only half right

The goal does not count because of the BI - 9-11-1 - BI occurs when a player touches the ball/basket/net when the ball is on or within the basket.

1-10-1 - A basket is the rim, flange, braces, and net.

Yes, after I looked it up, I realized that. Good, now I will get it right the first time it happens....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2002, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Lotto is correct. Must clear the net. This came up years ago when a dunk hit the dunker's head and bounce up and out. Now, having said this we have the Bobby Knight rule when it is the opponent.
Bart,
I am now clear that the ball must come out of the bottom of the net to be considered a good goal. Let me propose this:
Shot is in the air and tall guy spins to block out and hits the net that then wraps and catches. The ball settles in the net but can't come through. I've got a AP throw-in same as lodging.
You have me confused with the Bobby Knight reference. Please clarify.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2002, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
If the net is hung up and the ball rest in the net I think i would count the basket. I don't think i have seen this in a game. You got me thinking about this. Hmmmm.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2002, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
If the net is hung up and the ball rest in the net I think i would count the basket. I don't think i have seen this in a game. You got me thinking about this. Hmmmm.
Correct, when a ball remains in the basket, count the goal; someone already quoted this rule.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2002, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL

You have me confused with the Bobby Knight reference. Please clarify. [/B]
It had to do with an opponent grabbing the rim and pulling the rim down(break away rim). I don't remember the details because i don't work men's. Lets say team B is winning by 3 points. Team A shoots a 3pointer, ball in air, end of game horn, B1 grabs the rim down, then the ball goes in. Old rule the basket did not count. I don't think this was the play in Bobby's game, but i believe they concluded this could happen. I think in Bobby's game, his player shot and the ball was on or in the basket and the opponent grabbed and pulled the rim down, then the ball went all the way through. Again i think this is the way it went. Now the officials did not allow the basket and Bobby lost it(imagine that) Bobby got a T. The officials were correct and the changed the rule.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2002, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Lotto is correct. Must clear the net. This came up years ago when a dunk hit the dunker's head and bounce up and out. Now, having said this we have the Bobby Knight rule when it is the opponent.
Bart,
I am now clear that the ball must come out of the bottom of the net to be considered a good goal. Let me propose this:
Shot is in the air and tall guy spins to block out and hits the net that then wraps and catches. The ball settles in the net but can't come through. I've got a AP throw-in same as lodging.
You have me confused with the Bobby Knight reference. Please clarify.
This would be the wrong ruling. THe ball remained in the basket. Count it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2002, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Lotto is correct. Must clear the net. This came up years ago when a dunk hit the dunker's head and bounce up and out. Now, having said this we have the Bobby Knight rule when it is the opponent.
Bart you've got me confused again.
I assumed by ball clearing the net you meant that the ball had to come out of the net. If the ball passes through or stays in the net the goal should count. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 01, 2002, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Lotto is correct. Must clear the net. This came up years ago when a dunk hit the dunker's head and bounce up and out. Now, having said this we have the Bobby Knight rule when it is the opponent.
Bart you've got me confused again.
I assumed by ball clearing the net you meant that the ball had to come out of the net. If the ball passes through or stays in the net the goal should count. Right?
Correct
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1