Thread: Two Questions
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 03:47pm
Lotto Lotto is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL
I have two questions.
1) Exactly when does a goal count. When it is within the cylander or when it comes out of the net?
Rule 4, Section 31.
Art. 1. A goal shall be made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through, except on a throw-in.

So the ball has to clear the bottom of the net and or remain inside before you have a goal.


Quote:

2) A1 dribbling over half court both feet over the division line and ball has clearly broken the plane of the division line but not touched the floor in the front court. A1 then reverse pivots and goes back into backcourt. I have nothing. What do you have?
Rule 4, Section 28, Article 3:
c . During a dribble from back court to front court, the ball shall be in the front court when both feet of the dribbler and the ball touch the playing court entirely in the front court.

So I got nothing. Since we have a dribble going, we need all three points (both feet and ball) in the front court before the ball achieves front court status.

(Disclaimer: These are NCAA rules.)
Reply With Quote