![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Art. 36 Unsportsmanlike foul 36.1 Definition 36.1.1 An unsportsmanlike foul is a player contact foul which, in the judgement of the official, is not a legitimate attempt to directly play the ball within the spirit and intent of the rules. 36.2 Penalty 36.2.1 An unsportsmanlike foul shall be charged against the offender. 36.2.2 Free throw(s) shall be awarded to the player who was fouled, followed by: • A throw-in at the centre line extended, opposite the scorer’s table. • A jump ball at the centre circle to begin the first period. The number of free throws shall be as follows: • If the foul is committed on a player not in the act of shooting: two (2) free throws will be awarded. • If the foul is committed on a player in the act of shooting: the goal, if made, shall count and, in addition, one (1) free throw will be awarded. • If the foul is committed on a player in the act of shooting who fails to score: two (2) or three (3) free throws will be awarded. I can't give you a good case for this becuse I can't find one, how ever, the key is that if there is a dead ball and there is a continious play like in this video. You ignore personal fouls due to the dead ball, but if the foul is a T, U or D then you must call it. Therefore this is an unsportmanlike foul charged on the defence, the player who were fouled will attempt 3 FT's for this foul since he was trying for 3 points. I can't find the rules quote regarding dead ball fouls either I'm afraid... I'll keep looking though
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules |
|
|||
Everything that crazyvoyager just posted above is for FIBA and does NOT apply to NFHS or NCAA. Those rules are completely different. So for any NFHS or NCAA officials, we must ignore everything that he wrote. Doesn't mean that he is wrong, he's just working under a different system.
For starters the contact foul would NOT be an unsporting foul in NFHS play. By definition an unsporting foul is a noncontact foul under NFHS rules. Secondly, once the ball is dead a try for goal cannot be started. Therefore, the contact could only be deemed an intentional technical foul or a flagrant technical foul and would result in only 2 FTs. Lastly to answer Camron's question, I believe that only an incompetent official would deem this action a common foul. It is clearly excessive contact. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|