![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
As to whether or not the contact was flagrant ... again judgment call. I think if the physicality of the game had been escalating up to this point, I think I would toss the defensive player. If this play was out of character for the game, then I can see calling the intentional foul. Regardless, I am going to huddle with my partners, sort everything out, then give explanations to both coaches and get on with the game.
__________________
I only wanna know ... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I only wanna know ... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As for the contact... It is certainly not flagrant. If we ignore the T for a moment, how many would call that contact intentional had it occurred in isolation. I'm sure there are a few, and perhaps several, here that would only call a common foul. It is arguable that the contact could be ignored if the ball is dead.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
For sake of argument, let's say the coach dropped the f-bomb on the trail in the video. Trail raises hand, blows whistle, T-signal. Now trail has to determine whether or not shooting motion started before f-bomb. If I were trail in this case, and that was the defensive coach, it appears in the video as though some kind of shot was immenent, so I'd hold off for a second for the offense to get a shot, wait to see if it goes - to avoid any timing confusion, then blow my whistle and bang him with a T. If that coach is on the offense, I blow my whistle immediately, wave off the shot, and throw the T. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
WITHHOLD WHISTLE 10.4.1 SITUATION E: A1 is driving toward the basket for an apparent goal when the official, while trailing the play advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is cursed by the head coach of Team B. How should the official handle this situation? RULING: The official shall withhold blowing the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the shot. The official shall then sound the whistle and assess the Team B head coach with a technical foul. If the official judges the act to be flagrant, the coach shall be ejected and shall leave the vicinity of the playing area and have no further contact (direct or indirect) with the team. If A's coach was the offender, the whistle shall be sounded immediately when the unsporting act occurs. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|