The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2002, 09:20pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
I my play, I designated the first tap, after control, as the start of the dribble; because after establishing control like that such an action, the bat, can only be a dribble or a pass. And since the player batted to himself, it was not a pass, hence it became an illegal dribble.
mick,

You can't have an illegal dribble unless the ball has been dribbled.
In your play, you have nothing unless the player picks up his pivot foot and then puts it down again or starts a dribble. I such a case, you would have traveling.
Your play cannot be an illegal dribble since the ball has not been dribbled.

TH
The dribble starts when the ball is batted to the floor (it doesn't say straight down, or sideway, or not up). Then the ball was batted again, not caught as in 4.15.4E, but batted again as in 4.15.4D. This is a violation of dribble and not a violation of movement in a semblance of Cases 4.15.
Hey, I'm just using the tools that are available.
mick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1