The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 187
Ball is taken to the division line and inbounded by team A.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 11:37pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
From your description, I'm not so sure a T should be called. IAW Case Book 10.3.5, attempting to block a shot and striking the backboard is not an automatic T. It must have been intentional or in an attempt to draw attention to ones self or venting frustration. Was this the case? Just swinging and mising the ball and hitting the backboard is not an automatic T.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 01:26pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1