The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 11:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 88
Sorry to ask, but...

I don't have a rulebook or casebook handy and I was not able to find an answer when I searched. What is the proper procedure after a technical foul in a FED game?

Here is what happened: A1 makes a lay-up. While B1 attempts to block the shot he slaps the backboard. As Team B is inbounding the ball, the official blows his whistle and calls the "T". What happens after the free throws?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 187
Ball is taken to the division line and inbounded by team A.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 11:37pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,641
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
From your description, I'm not so sure a T should be called. IAW Case Book 10.3.5, attempting to block a shot and striking the backboard is not an automatic T. It must have been intentional or in an attempt to draw attention to ones self or venting frustration. Was this the case? Just swinging and mising the ball and hitting the backboard is not an automatic T.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 01:26pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,844
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 02:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,844
Why Sorry ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire99
Sorry To Ask, But ...
umpire99: Why are you "Sorry" to ask". That's what the Forum is for. Most of us have rule books, etc, but by posting questions here on the Forum, you get access to the knowledge, and experience, of hundreds of officials, from all levels, with correct interpretations, eventually, of the rules.

Also, are you related to Secret Agent 99. Back in the day, she was hot. A former Revlon model.


Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 16, 2008 at 03:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 03:12pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Also, are you related to Secret Agent 99. Back in the day, she was hot. A former Revlon model.

BTW - She's the one on the left.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 03:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
BTW - She's the one on the left.
If you say so. "Not that there's anything wrong with that".
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 06:57pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire99
I don't have a rulebook or casebook handy and I was not able to find an answer when I searched. What is the proper procedure after a technical foul in a FED game?

Here is what happened: A1 makes a lay-up. While B1 attempts to block the shot he slaps the backboard. As Team B is inbounding the ball, the official blows his whistle and calls the "T". What happens after the free throws?
2 more free throws are shot for the tech that Coach B will earn protesting the original T.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1