![]() |
|
|
|||
I Told You So ..
Quote:
|
|
|||
Player control needed?
Sorry to resurrect an old thread.
I read through all the replies and I just wanted to clarify one thing. I understand all the rules about when the 3-second rule should apply (i.e. front court status, team control, allowance for shooting motion, etc.)... Does there need to be PLAYER CONTROL for 3-seconds to be called? For example, if there is an interrupted dribble or if the ball handler loses control of the ball (but clearly still has team control since the other team hasn't gained control or the ball hasn't gone dead), should the 3-second count continue? |
|
|||
Advantage/Disadvantage
Quote:
I take that to heart... "White get out of there!", "42 get out!!" usually does the trick. Unresponsive? while determined to get an advantage? (see 5th grade numbskulls) OK, 3 seconds! --- anyways, the season starts, and I have several partners who are calling 3 seconds while the ball is being passed around the perimeter!! Lets segue to the "Pet Peeves" thread! Are you talking to them? Are they gaining advantage? Bottom line, I believe that this call is often called because an official feels like they have a "gotcha!" moment. An official thinks to themselves, hey, this is a violation! ---- Anyways, in regards to player control... I've asked! Player falls in the key... ball on the floor... scrum... ball is squirting around... 3 seconds?? are you kidding me? Advantage gained by being on the floor fighting for a loose ball? I don't think so. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Yes ...
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() PC is not a requirement for the three-seconds call, by rule. In practice, most officials seem to lose count during a "loose ball scrum" (and, yes, I know that's an undefined term) |
|
|||
True ...
Quote:
Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 23, 2008 at 01:07pm. |
|
|||
To summarize...
So just to summarize...
Snaqwells, good point on 3-seconds almost never being called if PC was required (unless someone who has the ball just camps in the lane). So it seems like even though the rule says that when there is a loose ball, the 3-seconds rule still apply since team control hasn't ended, most people here think that it's against the INTENT of the rule to call that because (a) it doesn't advantage/disadvantage either team and (b) it will look bad. I agree with this to a certain extent. But taking it further... what if the rule intends to do that, i.e. when there is a loose ball and Team A technically still has control, that no Team A player should be camping out in the lane. Maybe that's what coaches should be teaching and what we should be calling??? Am I completely off base here? Maybe there needs to be a clarification of the rule, like how they did it for interrupted dribble and kicking recently. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
10 seconds on an FT | A Pennsylvania Coach | Basketball | 28 | Wed Jan 30, 2008 04:38pm |
10 seconds | budjones05 | Basketball | 67 | Thu Jan 04, 2007 02:38pm |
Three Seconds | DJ | Basketball | 41 | Thu Jan 15, 2004 04:35pm |
Is it 3 seconds? | dsturdy5 | Basketball | 3 | Mon Mar 03, 2003 02:40am |
3 Seconds? | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 2 | Mon Jan 27, 2003 01:07am |