The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 06:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
players team in control
Ball in F/C
Player in the lane
Game clock running
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 01:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

The intent of the three-second rule is to not allow an offensive player to gain an advantage. There is no three-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. There is no three-second count during a throwin. There is no three-second count while the ball is in the backcourt. Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: washington
Posts: 29
3 seconds

Had a partner last night at a district game who called two 3 second violations when the play was no where near the key and the player had nothing to do w/ the play. Ball is in the front court. Question is, and I do understand that yes it is a violation but, until she recieve's the ball or become's part of the play I may not call this because it is a play stopper and interrupts flow. Opinions
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 02:43pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
Get Ready Cause Here It Comes ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtp
Had a partner last night at a district game who called two 3 second violations when the play was no where near the key and the player had nothing to do with the play. Question is, and I do understand that yes it is a violation but, until she recieve's the ball or become's part of the play I may not call this because it is a play stopper and interrupts flow. Opinions
emtp: Duck. Here it comes. Get ready. Unless you want to get your head blown off, I suggest that you go back to your original post and get rid of terms like "play stopper", and "interupts flow". Change those terms to advantage / disadvantage, and you may get some positive, or negative, feedback, but, at least, you'll probably escape with your life.

As for me, I'm choosing to sit this one out, sit back, and watch the fireworks.

Sorry about the mixed metaphors. I'm a scientist, not a writer.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 04:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
I Told You So ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
emtp: Duck. Here it comes. Get ready. As for me, I'm choosing to sit this one out, sit back, and watch the fireworks.
I'm quoting myself. I saw this coming a mile away. You may now continue.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 53
Player control needed?

Sorry to resurrect an old thread.

I read through all the replies and I just wanted to clarify one thing. I understand all the rules about when the 3-second rule should apply (i.e. front court status, team control, allowance for shooting motion, etc.)...

Does there need to be PLAYER CONTROL for 3-seconds to be called? For example, if there is an interrupted dribble or if the ball handler loses control of the ball (but clearly still has team control since the other team hasn't gained control or the ball hasn't gone dead), should the 3-second count continue?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Advantage/Disadvantage

Quote:
Originally Posted by actuary77
Sorry to resurrect an old thread.

I read through all the replies and I just wanted to clarify one thing. I understand all the rules about when the 3-second rule should apply (i.e. front court status, team control, allowance for shooting motion, etc.)...

Does there need to be PLAYER CONTROL for 3-seconds to be called? For example, if there is an interrupted dribble or if the ball handler loses control of the ball (but clearly still has team control since the other team hasn't gained control or the ball hasn't gone dead), should the 3-second count continue?
In my training this summer I was counseled by the gray-hairs... several said they could count the 3-second calls that they had made in the last year on one hand... suggesting that it was rarely a call that they made.

I take that to heart... "White get out of there!", "42 get out!!" usually does the trick. Unresponsive? while determined to get an advantage? (see 5th grade numbskulls) OK, 3 seconds!

---

anyways, the season starts, and I have several partners who are calling 3 seconds while the ball is being passed around the perimeter!! Lets segue to the "Pet Peeves" thread! Are you talking to them? Are they gaining advantage?

Bottom line, I believe that this call is often called because an official feels like they have a "gotcha!" moment. An official thinks to themselves, hey, this is a violation!

----

Anyways, in regards to player control... I've asked! Player falls in the key... ball on the floor... scrum... ball is squirting around... 3 seconds?? are you kidding me? Advantage gained by being on the floor fighting for a loose ball?


I don't think so.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 11:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
Yes ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by actuary77
Does there need to be PLAYER CONTROL for 3-seconds to be called? For example, if there is an interrupted dribble or if the ball handler loses control of the ball (but clearly still has team control since the other team hasn't gained control or the ball hasn't gone dead), should the 3-second count continue?
Yes it should. Team control still continues during an interupted dribble. I think that there used to be a case play, or rules clarification on this, but I can't seem to find it right now. Help???
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by actuary77
Sorry to resurrect an old thread.

I read through all the replies and I just wanted to clarify one thing. I understand all the rules about when the 3-second rule should apply (i.e. front court status, team control, allowance for shooting motion, etc.)...

Does there need to be PLAYER CONTROL for 3-seconds to be called? For example, if there is an interrupted dribble or if the ball handler loses control of the ball (but clearly still has team control since the other team hasn't gained control or the ball hasn't gone dead), should the 3-second count continue?
Yout two statements are inconsistent.

PC is not a requirement for the three-seconds call, by rule.

In practice, most officials seem to lose count during a "loose ball scrum" (and, yes, I know that's an undefined term)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by emtp
Had a partner last night at a district game who called two 3 second violations when the play was no where near the key and the player had nothing to do w/ the play. Ball is in the front court. Question is, and I do understand that yes it is a violation but, until she recieve's the ball or become's part of the play I may not call this because it is a play stopper and interrupts flow. Opinions
I dont think its our part to worry about "play stopper" or "the flow" -- of course we would love a great flowing game. However its the players and their actions that determine that, not our job.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: washington
Posts: 29
3 seconds

Billymac, you are right verbage is everything, I should have used advantage-disadvantage. It becomes an advantage when they become part of the play, blowing my whistle then. If you don't here from me again that means I called 911, send flowers.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 04:12pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by emtp
Ball is in the front court. Question is, and I do understand that yes it is a violation but, until she recieve's the ball or become's part of the play I may not call this because it is a play stopper and interrupts flow.
Every single time you blow your whistle, you stop play and interrupt flow. Soooooo......if you want to avoid play-stoppers and flow-interrupters, you simply should never blow your whistle. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: washington
Posts: 29
3 seconds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Every single time you blow your whistle, you stop play and interrupt flow. Soooooo......if you want to avoid play-stoppers and flow-interrupters, you simply should never blow your whistle. Correct?
I admitted to my verbage mistake, I'm willing to take my tounge lashing but be kind about it, or not.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 04:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by emtp
I admitted to my verbage mistake, I'm willing to take my tounge lashing but be kind about it.
There's no tongue lashing involved nor was anything like that ever intended. I was just wondering about the phrases you used. They seem to be quite common lately in different forms. Maybe it's just me, but most of the time it seems that the so-called "game interrupters" being discussed are just your normal, every-day judgment calls.

Sometimes, we tend to think waaaaaay too much about some of the calls that we make imo.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: washington
Posts: 29
3 seconds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
There's no tongue lashing involved nor was anything like that ever intended. I was just wondering about the phrases you used. They seem to be quite common lately in different forms. Maybe it's just me, but most of the time it seems that the so-called "game interrupters" being discussed are just your normal, every-day judgment calls.

Sometimes, we tend to think waaaaaay too much about some of the calls that we make imo.
I'm smileing and having fun, that's why I like to read this board, thanks for the reply
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 seconds on an FT A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 28 Wed Jan 30, 2008 04:38pm
10 seconds budjones05 Basketball 67 Thu Jan 04, 2007 02:38pm
Three Seconds DJ Basketball 41 Thu Jan 15, 2004 04:35pm
Is it 3 seconds? dsturdy5 Basketball 3 Mon Mar 03, 2003 02:40am
3 Seconds? Back In The Saddle Basketball 2 Mon Jan 27, 2003 01:07am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1